Vote for the best former Iowa high school mascot: Southeast sectionals, May Mascot Madness

We've got Blue Bombers, Charging Czechs, Foxes, Hill Men, Mounties, Seahawks, Tamahawks, Trotters and Welshmen

The sectional round for May Mascot Madness concludes Thursday with the brackets of the Southeast District (even though Section A is more centrally located).

Vote for one school from each of three sections. The three winners meet in the district final on a later date.

At the end of this leg of the competition, we’ll be down to 27 schools. Up next, the district round, starting Monday.

[What is May Mascot Madness? Read more and find complete results here]

Section A

Clutier Charging Czechs

• Where were they located? With a population of 205, Clutier resides in east-central Tama County, about 5 miles west of Highway 21. Nickname was later changed to the Monarchs.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Traer in 1961. Became Traer-Clutier, then later North Tama.

Green Mountain Mounties

• Where were they located? About 5 miles northeast of Marshalltown, Green Mountain has a population of 126.

• What happened to them? Combined with Garwin in 1987 to form Green Mountain-Garwin.

Tama Tamahawks


• Where were they located? The southern (and slightly larger) of the “twin cities” of Tama County, Tama has a population of 2,700.

• What happened to them? Combined with northern neighbor Toledo — along will smaller towns Chelsea and Montour — to form South Tama in 1962.


Section B

Fox Valley Trotters

• Where were they located? Milton is a town of 394 on Highway 2 in southwest Van Buren County, about 5 miles from the Missouri border. The school was founded in 1961 by the merger of Milton and Cantril.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Van Buren in 2002.

Salem Seahawks

• Where were they located? Salem (population 381) is just west of the Avenue of the Saints (highways 218 and 27) in Henry County, about 15 miles southwest of Mount Pleasant.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Mount Pleasant, year unknown.

Wyman Welshmen

• Where were they located? An unincorporated town, Wyman is in southwest Louisa County, between Washington, Mount Pleasant and Columbus Junction.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Winfield, year unknown, and now part of the Winfield-Mount Union district.


Section C

Hedrick Foxes


• Where were they located? Hedrick is on Highway 149 in southwest Keokuk County, between Ottumwa and Sigourney. Population today is 847.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Pekin in 1991.

Rose Hill Hill Men

• Where were they located? A town on Highway 92 in eastern Mahaska County, Rose Hill has a population of 161.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by Oskaloosa, year unknown.

South English Blue Bombers

• Where were they located? At the junction of highways 22 and 149 in northeast Keokuk County, between Sigourney and Williamsburg. Population is 206.

• What happened to them? Absorbed by North English in 1950. The district became known as English Valleys in 1957.


Can't view the polls on your device? Click here (A)here (B) and here (C) to see the results.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.