Cedar Rapids couple to join Iowa Democrats' Hall of Fame

FILE PHOTO: Elwood Garlock of Cedar Rapids walks through the Rock Island Preserve on Tuesday, June 21, 2011, in northeas
FILE PHOTO: Elwood Garlock of Cedar Rapids walks through the Rock Island Preserve on Tuesday, June 21, 2011, in northeast Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Garlock is a plaintiff in a lawsuit filed by the Sierra Club Iowa Chapter and Linda Biederman of Marion in United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa in Des Moines asking a federal judge to block construction of the Highway 100 extension in Linn County, arguing that flawed environmental reviews failed to protect the Rock Island county and state preserves. (Jim Slosiarek/The Gazette)

DES MOINES — A Cedar Rapids couple will be honored as “Outstanding Activists” at the Iowa Democrats’ annual Hall of Fame induction June 9 in Cedar Rapids.

Retired teachers Cindy and Elwood Garlock long have been active in Democratic politics — from canvassing and phone banking to running their own location as site leaders.

After the 2016 election, they stepped up their activity as leaders within Indivisible Iowa. They launched letter-to-the-editor campaigns focused on health care, rural issues and immigration. They also helped organize Blum Thursdays, a grassroots group opposing the re-election of 1st District Rep. Rod Blum and opposing President Donald Trump.

In 2018, the Garlocks served as volunteers for the Campaign for Iowa and Abby Finkenauer, who successfully challenged Blum.

They also have supported female leaders in Cedar Rapids and beyond.

Fred and Charlotte Hubbell also will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as “Outstanding Supporters.”

Other inductees will be College and Young Democrats of Iowa, Outstanding State Central Committee Member; Sioux County Democrats, Outstanding Democratic Party Chair; and Rep. Ras Smith of Waterloo, Rising Star.

Featured speakers will include presidential candidates Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, John Delaney, Kirsten Gillibrand, Kamala Harris, John Hickenlooper, Amy Klobuchar, Elizabeth Warren and Andrew Yang. More candidates may be added.

The celebration will be at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Cedar Rapids.


Tickets go on sale Friday at

• Comments: (319) 398-8375;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.