Iowa high school state wrestling championship results

English Valleys' Zachary Axmear won the 152-pound Class 1A state title. (Liz Martin/The Gazette)
English Valleys' Zachary Axmear won the 152-pound Class 1A state title. (Liz Martin/The Gazette)

Another Iowa high school state wrestling tournament has come and gone as 42 wrestlers and three teams were crowned champions Saturday night.

Here’s what you need to know.

Class 3A

Western Dubuque doubled its historical total of state champions, and for Max Lyon and Iowa City West's Nelson Brands, state was twice as nice this year. Southeast Polk won the team title.



Class 2A

Bryce West won his third state title, and his major decision played a major role in Solon edging New Hampton by a half-point for the 2A team championship.

Meanwhile, you have to see Tristan Wirfs' winning takedown and celebration at heavyweight:



Class 1A

Lisbon won its 15th traditional state title and first since 1993 as freshman Cael Happel claimed gold a year after his brother, Carter, won his fourth state championship.



Championship Results


106: No. 3 Adam Allard (West Sioux) dec. No. 2 Cobe Siebrecht (Lisbon), 5-2


113: No. 1 Cael Happel (Lisbon) tech. fall No. 5 Devon Meeker (Wapello), 21-6 (4:11)

120: No. 3 Brock Henderson (North Linn) dec. No. 1 Brady Kyner (Southeast Warren/Melcher-Dallas), 3-0

126: No. 1 Alex Thomsen (Underwood) tech. fall No. 3 Donny Schmit (Wapsie Valley), 24-9 (5:29)

132: No. 1 Chance Throndson (Riceville) major dec. No. 7 Blake Bauer (Southeast Warren/Melcher-Dallas), 12-2

138: No. 2 Kaleb Krall (Wapsie Valley) dec. No. 9 Kory Van Oort (West Sioux), 1-0

145: No. 1 Trent Johnson (Dike-New Hartford) dec. No. 2 Dylan Schuck (Sibley-Ocheyedan), 6-2

152: No. 1 Zach Axmear (English Valleys) dec. No. 2 Brennan Swafford (Mediapolis), 7-4

160: No. 3 John Henrich (Akron-Westfield) dec. No. 1 Jacob Krakow (Iowa Valley), 4-3

170: No. 2 Taylan Entriken (Hudson) dec. No. 3 Jarel Arbegast (West Fork), 8-4


Thank you for signing up for our e-newsletter!

You should start receiving the e-newsletters within a couple days.

182: No. 3 Alec McDowell (Maquoketa Valley) dec. No. 1 Logan Schumacher (Martensdale-St. Marys), 6-1

195: No. 1 Slade Sifuentes (Lake Mills) tech. fall No. 2 Hunter Hagen (West Hancock), 16-0 (5:17)

220: No. 1 Drake Johnsen (Logan-Magnolia) pinned No. 5 Chaz Clark (Pleasantville) in 2:19

285: No. 1 Jared Brinkman (Iowa City Regina) dec. No. 2 Kyler Schott (North Linn), 5-2


106: No. 1 Grayson Kesterson (Williamsburg) dec. No. 8 Jarod Kadel (Columbus Community), 4-0

113: No. 3 Aden Reeves (Albia) dec. No. 2 Drake Doolittle (Webster City), 8-7

120: No. 1 Bryce West (Solon) major dec. No. 7 Blake Steege (Denver-Tripoli), 15-5

126: No. 2 Michael Millage (New Hampton) dec. No. 1 Drew West (Solon), 3-2

132: No. 3 Matt Robertson (Davenport Assumption) dec. No. 4 Brant O’Shea (Keokuk), 3-2

138: No. 1 Keaton Geerts (New Hampton) dec. No. 5 Skyler Noftsger (Ballard), 6-2


145: No. 1 Ryan Leisure (Clear Lake) dec. No. 3 Xavier Miller (Monroe PCM), 5-0

152: No. 2 Isaac Judge (South Tama) dec. No. 8 Trey Van Weelden (Washington, Iowa), 7-0

160: No. 3 Julien Broderson (Davenport Assumption) dec. No. 2 Ryan Gorman (New Hampton), 4-2

170: No. 1 Brock Jennings (Osage) pinned No. 4 Kyler Fisher (Southeast Valley) in 1:43

182: No. 1 Chase Shiltz (Creston/O-M) major dec. Ben Lee (Ballard), 11-3

195: No. 1 Bryce Esmoil (West Liberty) tech. fall Cody Fisher (Woodward-Granger), 15-0 (3:45)

220: No. 8 Jordan Baumler (North Fayette Valley) dec. No. 2 Kadon Hulett (Creston/O-M), 6-5

285: No. 2 Tristan Wirfs (Mount Vernon) dec. No. 3 John McConkey (Atlantic/CAM) 3-2


106: No. 1 Cullan Schriever (Mason City) dec. No. 4 Ben Monroe (Ankeny Centennial), 9-5


113: No. 2 Kyle Biscoglia (Waukee) pinned No. 4 Jacob Schipper (North Scott) in 3:44

120: No. 1 Brody Teske (Fort Dodge) tech. fall No. 2 Gauge Perrien (Southeast Polk), 20-5 (5:03)

126: No. 2 McGwire Midkiff (Council Bluffs Jefferson) beat No. 1 Adam Brown (Southeast Polk), 3-1 (TB-1)

132: No. 3 Bradan Birt (Western Dubuque) dec. No. 1 Cade DeVos (Southeast Polk), 14-10

138: No. 1 Triston Lara (Fort Dodge) beat No. 2 Nathan Lendt (Southeast Polk), 5-1 (SV-1)

145: No. 1 Zach Barnes (Southeast Polk) dec. No. 2 Grant Stotts (West Des Moines Valley), 5-1

152: No. 1 Nelson Brands (Iowa City West) dec. No. 2 Cayd Lara (Fort Dodge), 11-9

160: No. 1 Joel Shapiro (West Des Moines Valley) dec. No. 2 Mac Southard (Lewis Central), 5-3


170: No. 1 Marcus Coleman (Ames) tech. fall No. 4 Gavin Babcock (Southeast Polk), 22-7 (3:32)

182: No. 1 Max Lyon (Western Dubuque) dec. No. 2 Anthony Sherry (Glenwood), 7-0

195: No. 2 Isaac Bartel (Mason City) beat No. 1 Kaden Sauer (West Des Moines Dowling) 5-4 (UTB)

220: No. 2 Wyatt Wriedt (North Scott) beat No. 1 Rocky Lombardi (West Des Moines Valley), 5-3 (SV-1)

285: No. 1 Aaron Costello (Western Dubuque) pinned No. 3 Eagan Lickiss (Indianola) in 2:19



  DES MOINES - Cael Happel cracked open a can of Mountain Dew. The Lisbon sophomore hadn't consumed soda in about eight months, but he earned this one. "I haven't had pop since June of last year, so that's the first one in a wh ...

DES MOINES - Nelson Brands let his actions do all the talking this week. His final performance spoke volumes about the dominance to close his prep career. The Iowa City West senior needed just 3:15 for to post his second technic ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.