Prep Wrestling

2018 Iowa high school state wrestling tournament: Championship results, team scores, highlights and more

Championship Saturday crowned 39 individuals and three teams at the Iowa high school state wrestling tournament. Here's what you missed.

Complete coverage

Class 3A: Iowa City West's Nelson Brands claims third title

Class 2A: Bryce Esmoil becomes West Liberty's first repeat champion

Class 1A: Cael Happel's second crown secures Lisbon's team title

Gallery: 52 photos from the state wrestling finals


Lisbon wins Class 1A title



Iowa City West's Nelson Brands



Cedar Rapids Kennedy's Ben Sarasin




West Liberty's Bryce Esmoil



Alburnett's Tanner Sloan



Team scores


1. Fort Dodge, 144

2. Waukee, 139

3. Southeast Polk, 134.5

4. West Des Moines Valley, 106.5

5. Glenwood, 76.5

6. Johnston, 74.5

7. Iowa City West, 73.5

8. Iowa City High, 71

9. Dubuque Hempstead, 67

10. Perry 59


1. Dubuque Wahlert, 94

2. New Hampton/TV, 80

3. South Tama, 75

4. Ballard, 69

5. Monroe PCM, 62.5

6. Centerville, 59

6. West Liberty, 59

8. Davenport Assumption, 58

9. Webster City, 46

10. Atlantic/CAM, 45.5


1. Lisbon, 127.5

2. Don Bosco, 121

3. Denver, 86

4. Wapsie Valley, 66.5

5. Underwood, 58

6. Martensdale-St. Marys, 57

6. Woodbury Central 51

9. Logan-Magnolia, 50

9. West Sioux 50


Championship matches


106: Cullan Schriever (Mason City) dec. Drake Ayala (Fort Dodge) 9-3

113: Nick Oldham (West Des Moines Valley) dec. Caleb Rathjen (Ankeny) 10-8

120: Kyle Biscoglia (Waukee) dec. Ben Monroe (Ankeny Centennial) 9-2

126: Brody Teske (Fort Dodge) pinned Kaleb Olejniczak (Perry), 1:49

132: Drew Bennett (Fort Dodge) dec. Eli Loyd (Pleasant Valley) 9-4

138: Zach Stewart (Perry) dec. Deville Dentis (Des Moines East) 3-1

145: Cade DeVos (Southeast Polk) dec. Mason Hulse (Boone) 7-2

152: Harlan Steffensmeier (Fort Madison) dec. Cayd Lara (Fort Dodge) 5-4

160: Nelson Brands (Iowa City West) tech. fall Wilfred Kadohou (Iowa City High) 22-7, 3:15

170: Ben Sarasin (Cedar Rapids Kennedy) dec. Anthony Zach (Waukee) 9-5

182: Joel Shapiro (West Des Moines Valley) dec. Brandon Tessau (Waukee) 8-2

195: Jacob Dykes (Iowa City High) dec. Reece Bowlin (Indianola) 7-2

220: Francis Duggan (Iowa City West) major dec. Greg Hagan (West Des Moines Dowling) 13-4

285: Caleb Sanders (Glenwood) dec. Dylan Olson (Dubuque Hempstead) 3-2


106: Matthew Lewis (Centerville) dec. Jarod Kadel (Columbus/WMU) 1-0, SV-1

113: Andrew Flora (Adel ADM) dec. Nathaniel Genobana (Centerville) 1-0

120: Aden Reeves (Albia) pinned Jack Gaukel (Sergeant Bluff-Luton), 0:55

126: Shea Ruffridge (Pocahontas Area) dec. Eric Faught (Clear Lake) 3-2

132: Matt Robertson (Davenport Assumption) dec. Brady Fritz (South Tama) 4-3

138: Michael Blockhus (New Hampton/TV) dec. Jarrett Miller (Ballard) 9-5

145: Ryan Steffen (Crestwood) pinned Austin Rozeboom (Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley) 3:16

152: Isaac Judge (South Tama) dec. Kyler Rieck (Spirit Lake Park) 5-0

160: Josh Ramirez (Dubuque Wahlert) dec. Luke Hageman (Dyersville Beckman) 11-7

170: Lucas Roland (Monroe PCM) dec. Kolton Bartow (Dubuque Wahlert) 5-1

182: Julien Broderson (Davenport Assumption) pinned Kyler Fisher (Southeast Valley), 3:20

195: Bryce Esmoil (West Liberty) pinned Cody Fisher (Woodward-Granger) 1:05

220: Boone McDermott (Dubuque Wahlert) pinned Jordan Baumler (North Fayette Valley) 5:27

285: John McConkey (Atlantic/CAM) dec. Spencer Trenary (Clarion CGD) 7-6


106: Daniel Kimball (Don Bosco) dec. Jaymus Wilson (Alburnett) 6-2

113: Adam Allard (West Sioux) dec. Briar Reisz (Logan-Magnolia) 9-2

120: Cael Happel (Lisbon) tech. fall Daniel Meeker (Wapello) 27-12, 4:45

126: Alex Thomsen (Underwood) major dec. Cobe Siebrecht (Lisbon) 18-6

132: Donny Schmit (Wapsie Valley) pinned Brady Henderson (North Linn) 1:59

138: Gable Fox (Don Bosco) dec. Kolton Roth (Graettinger GTRA) 11-10

145: Cooper Siebrecht (Lisbon) dec. Wade Mitchell (Woodbury Central) 3-2

152: Trey Brisker (Wilton) dec. Kaleb Krall (Wapsie Valley) 6-2

160: John Henrich (Akron-Westfield) dec. Brennan Swafford (Mediapolis) 8-7

170: Gabe Pauley (Avoca AHSTW) dec. Bryce Werderman (Lisbon) 6-5

182: Logan Schumacher (Martensdale-St. Marys) dec. Garet Sims (Iowa Valley) 2-0

195: Tanner Sloan (Alburnett) pinned Hunter DeJong (Sibley-Ocheyedan) 3:18

220: Cam Fulcher (Hudson) pinned Tom Reif (Missouri Valley) 5:44

285: Brian Sadler (Jesup) pinned Chase Arends (Dike-New Hartford) 0:52

Live updates



Now that we've had a few days to decompress, Pinning Combination is back to recap last week's state wrestling tournament. We run down the top stories statewide and in the area in all three classes and share our favorite moments fr ...

  DES MOINES - Cael Happel cracked open a can of Mountain Dew. The Lisbon sophomore hadn't consumed soda in about eight months, but he earned this one. "I haven't had pop since June of last year, so that's the first one in a wh ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.