Final Iowa high school girls' basketball mock regional pairings, 3A-2A-1A

IGHSAU releases the real ones Thursday

Springville’s Alyssa Jaeger takes a shot during against Burlington Notre Dame at last year’s girls state basketball tournament. Springville is the two-time defending champion in Class 1A. (Jim Slosiarek/The Gazette)
Springville’s Alyssa Jaeger takes a shot during against Burlington Notre Dame at last year’s girls state basketball tournament. Springville is the two-time defending champion in Class 1A. (Jim Slosiarek/The Gazette)

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union will release regional pairings on Thursday (3A-2A-1A) and Feb. 1 (5A-4A).

Here are The Gazette’s final mock brackets for the smallest three classes (top regional seed denoted with an asterisk). We will add mock 5A and 4A brackets next week:

Class 3A

Region 1

Sheldon at Sioux Center*

Ida Grove OA-BCIG at MOC-Floyd Valley

Atlantic at Red Oak

Creston at Shenandoah

Region 2

Estherville ELC at Cherokee*

Spirit Lake at Algona

Pocahontas Area at Carroll Kuemper

Greene County at East Sac County

Region 3

Hampton-Dumont at Osage*

Southeast Valley at Garner GHV

Humboldt at Forest City

Clarion CGD at Iowa Falls-Alden

Region 4

Clarke at Roland-Story*

Monroe PCM at Gilbert

South Hardin at South Central Calhoun

Saydel at North Polk

Region 5

Vinton-Shellsburg at Clear Lake*

Union Community at Waterloo Columbus

Benton Community at Monticello

Oelwein at New Hampton

Region 6

Williamsburg at Nevada*

Eddyville EBF at Albia

Solon at West Marshall

South Tama at Chariton

Region 7

North Fayette Valley at Crestwood*

West Delaware at Waukon

Northeast at Anamosa

Dyersville Beckman at Mount Vernon

Region 8

Davis County at Davenport Assumption*

Centerville at Central Lee

Tipton at Mid-Prairie

West Liberty at Camanche

Class 2A

Region 1

Lawton-Bronson at Hartley HMS (winner at Western Christian*)

Sibley-Ocheyedan at South O’Brien (winner at Okoboji)

Rock Valley at Central Lyon (winner at West Sioux)

Boyden-Hull at Unity Christian (winner at West Lyon)

Region 2

Mapleton MVAO-COU at Hinton (winner at Logan-Magnolia*)

Missouri Valley at Ridge View (winner at Woodbury Central)

Fort Dodge St. Edmond at Manson-NW Webster (winner at IKM-Manning)

Woodward-Granger at Alta-Aurelia (winner at Sioux Central)

Region 3

Avoca AHSTW at Tri-Center (winner at Treynor*)

Guthrie Center ACGC at Council Bluffs St. Albert (winner at Underwood)

West Central Valley at Southwest Valley (winner at Nodaway Valley)

Clarinda at Mount Ayr (winner at Sidney)

Region 4

Eagle Grove at South Hamilton (winner at Grundy Center*)

Nashua-Plainfield at Saint Ansgar (winner at Aplington-Parkersburg)

Lake Mills at West Fork (winner at North Union)

Belmond-Klemme at Emmetsburg (winner at Central Springs)

Region 5

Van Meter at Martensdale-St. Marys (winner at Panorama*)

Pleasantville at Earlham (winner at Pella Christian)

Hudson at Conrad BCLUW (winner at Dike-New Hartford)

Ogden at Madrid (winner at Des Moines Christian)

Region 6

Wapsie Valley at South Winneshiek (winner at Cascade*)

Starmont at MFL MarMac (winner at Sumner-Fredericksburg)

Denver at Jesup (winner at Bellevue)

Clayton Ridge at East Buchanan (winner at Maquoketa Valley)

Region 7

East Marshall at Alburnett (winner at North Linn*)

Colfax-Mingo at Belle Plaine (winner at Sigourney)

Lisbon at North Cedar (winner at Wilton)

Durant at Louisa-Muscatine (winner at West Branch)

Region 8

Wapello at West Burlington (winner at Iowa City Regina*)

Columbus Community at Highland (winner at Van Buren)

Interstate 35 at Wayne (winner at Pekin)

Cardinal at Danville (winner at Mediapolis)

Class 1A

Region 1

Newell-Fonda*, bye

Harris-Lake Park at George-Little Rock

Ruthven GTRA, bye

West Bend-Mallard at Marcus MMCRU

Westwood, bye

Trinity Christian at Siouxland Christian

Remsen St. Mary’s at Le Mars Gehlen

West Harrison at Akron-Westfield

Region 2

Kingsley-Pierson*, bye

Whiting at Clay Central-Everly

West Monona, bye

River Valley at Ar-We-Va

Boyer Valley, bye

Coon Rapids-Bayard at Heartland Christian

Woodbine at Glidden-Ralston

Oakland Riverside at East Mills

Region 3

Ackley AGWSR*, bye

Gladbrook-Reinbeck at North Butler

Janesville, bye

Waterloo Christian at Dunkerton

Algona Garrigan, bye

Rockford at Paton-Churdan

Latimer CAL at Colo-Nesco

Storm Lake St. Mary’s at Mason City Newman

Region 4

Exira-EHK*, bye

Audubon at Grand View Christian

Iowa Christian Academy at Anita CAM

Baxter at Collins-Maxwell

Montezuma, bye

BGM at Garwin GMG

HLV at Lynnville-Sully

North Tama at Meskwaki

Region 5

Central Decatur*, bye

South Page at Stanton

Diagonal, bye

Lenox at Lamoni

Murray, bye

Orient-Macksburg at East Union

Bedford at Fremont-Mills

Essex at Griswold

Region 6

West Hancock*, bye

Northwood-Kensett at North Iowa

Clarksville, bye

Riceville at Don Bosco

Lansing Kee, bye

Tripoli at Edgewood-Colesburg

West Central at Bellevue Marquette

Elkader Central at Turkey Valley

Region 7

North Mahaska*, bye

Iowa Mennonite at Tri-County

English Valleys, bye

Keota at Iowa Valley

Seymour, bye

Moulton-Udell at Moravia

Twin Cedars at Southeast Warren

Mormon Trail at Melcher-Dallas

Region 8

Springville*, bye

Calamus-Wheatland at Central City

Easton Valley, bye

Clinton Prince of Peace at Midland

Cedar Valley Christian, bye

Lone Tree at WACO

New London at Winfield-Mount Union

Burlington Notre Dame at Fort Madison Holy Trinity

l Comments: (319) 368-8857;



VINTON - They already had a taste. Now they want the title.Undefeated and second-ranked North Linn had four players score in double figures and used first-half bursts of 18-0 and 17-0 for an 84-41 drubbing of Gladbrook-Reinbeck in ...

This week on Double Dribble, The Gazette's Jeff Linder and Jeff Johnson discuss Cedar Rapids Kennedy girls' basketball coach Tony Vis' resignation due, in part, to 'conflict with parents' and preview next week's Iowa high school g ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.