UPDATE: Early voting turnout is slow in Corridor city elections

CEDAR RAPIDS — Corridor voters continue to head to the polls this afternoon cast ballots in city elections.

At 3 p.m., the Linn County Auditor’s Office reported 6,820 people or 7.84 percent of registered voters had voted in elections to determine a new mayor and four council seats.

In Iowa City, competitive races for three city council seats had attracted 2,547 voters or 5.47 percent, as of 3 p.m., the Johnson County Auditor’s Office reported.

Hiawatha, where there is a library bond issue on the ballot, had 334 voters or 7.33 percent turnout while council races in Marion attracted 851 voters or 3.18 percent, the auditor’s office said.

Polls remain open until 8 p.m.

Ahead of Election Day, 2,522 votes had been cast early in Linn County, including 2,156 in Cedar Rapids. In Johnson County, about 1,800 ballots were cast early, down about 300 from the last municipal election.

In 2015, with a library levy on the ballot as well as city council seats, the Cedar Rapids municipal election attracted 16 percent turnout. That was down from a 22 percent turnout two years earlier for the mayoral contest.

In Iowa City, just over 15 percent of registered voters cast ballots in 2015, down from 22 percent in 2013.


In Cedar Rapids, there is an eight-way race for mayor. The candidates are Kris Gulick, Brad Hart, Gary Hinzman, Scott Olson, Timothy Pridegon, Jorel Robinson, Lemi Tilahun and Monica Vernon.

Damian Miguel Epps, Lisa Kuzela and Tyler Olson are seeking an at-large council seat.

Marty Hoeger and Ryan Russell are running in District 1 seat, Keith Rippy, Dale Todd and Justin Wasson are vying for the District 3 seat and Justin Shields and Ashley Vanourney are running in District 5.

In Iowa City, Kingsley Botchway II, Mazahir Salih and Angela Winnike are running for two at-large seats, and Ryan Hall and Susan Mims are running in District B.

In Coralville, Elizabeth Dinschel, Cindy Riley, Meghann Foster, Miriam Timmer-Hackert, Thomas Gill, Imad Youssif and Laurie A. Goodrich are running for three council seats.

To find you polling place in Linn County, go to http://www.linncounty.org/DocumentCenter/View/369. In Johnson County, visit https://gis.johnson-county.com/generalpollingplaces/. Elsewhere, got to https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/voterreg/pollingplace/search.aspx.

Residents can follow thegazette.com for real-time results on election night.

Before they cast their ballots, readers can learn more about candidates’ voting histories and their campaign finances in Coralville and Iowa City, as well as Cedar Rapids and Marion.

l Comments: (319) 398-8375; james.lynch@thegazette.com



CORALVILLE - Iowa City native, advocate and author Zach Wahls announced Thursday he will run for the Iowa Senate seat held by Bob Dvorsky, who does not plan to seek re-election in 2018. "I'm running for the Iowa Senate for one si ...

CEDAR RAPIDS - Business lawyer Brad Hart will be Cedar Rapids' next mayor after beating former City Council member Monica Vernon in a runoff Tuesday.Hart took more than 54 percent of the vote.Hart said he was excited to get starte ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.