Books

3 nationally recognized authors to speak at Out Loud! Author Series

Novelists present, take questions and sign books

Philbrick Photography

Lisa Gardner, a New York Times best-selling author of crime thriller novels, will appear June 1 in Cedar Rapids.
Philbrick Photography Lisa Gardner, a New York Times best-selling author of crime thriller novels, will appear June 1 in Cedar Rapids.
/

The Metro Library Network Author Series brings another solid set of authors to the Cedar Rapids metro area this summer. The collaborative program of the Cedar Rapids, Hiawatha, and Marion public libraries will present Lisa Gardner, Jacqueline Woodson, and Matthew Dicks on three Friday nights in June at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center.

The series will begin with Lisa Gardner at 7 p.m. June 1. Gardner is the No. 1 New York Times best-selling author of crime thriller novels, including “Look for Me,” “Right Behind You,” “Find Her,” and “The Neighbor,” which won the International Thriller of the Year Award.

Hailed as “one of the best-known names in all of thrillerdom,” Gardner has an undeniable talent for creating irresistible page-turners. With more than 22 million books sold in print in 30 countries, her compelling suspense novels captivate audiences across the world.

Four of her books have been adapted for the small screen (“At the Midnight Hour,” “The Perfect Husband,” “The Survivors Club,” and “Hide”).

Her novel, “The Neighbor,” was recognized as the “Best Hardcover Novel” by the International Thriller Writers in the United States and received the Grand Prix des Lectrices de Elle in France. In 2000, Gardner received the Daphne du Maurier Award for “The Other Daughter.” She also received the Silver Bullet Award from the International Thriller Writers in 2017 for her work on behalf of at-risk children and the Humane Society.

 

Author Jacqueline Woodson will continue the series at 7 p.m. June 8. Woodson is the 2014 National Book Award Winner for her New York Times best-selling memoir “Brown Girl Dreaming,” which also was a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award, a Newbery Honor Award, the NAACP Image Award, and the Sibert Honor Award. She also is author of New York Times best-selling novel “Another Brooklyn” (Harper/Amistad), which was a 2016 National Book Award Finalist and was Woodson’s first adult novel in 20 years.

In 2015, Woodson was named Young People’s Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation. She is author of more than two dozen award-winning books for young adults, middle graders and children. Among her many accolades, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner, a three-time National Book Award finalist, and a two-time Coretta Scott King Award winner. Most recently, she was named the 2018 Ambassador for Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress.

ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW ADVERTISEMENT

 

The Out Loud! series will conclude with internationally best-selling author Matthew Dicks at 7 p.m. June 22. Dicks is author of the novels “Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend,” “Something Missing,” “Unexpectedly, Milo,” “The Perfect Comeback of Caroline Jacobs,” and the upcoming “Storyworthy: Engage, Teach, Persuade, and Change Your Life through the Power of Storytelling.”

His novels have been translated into more than 25 languages worldwide. “Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend” was the 2014 Dolly Gray Award winner and was nominated for a 2017 Nutmeg Award in Connecticut.

Dicks also is a 35-time Moth StorySLAM champion and five-time GrandSLAM champion. He has told stories for This American Life, TED, and Literary Death Match, among many others.

No tickets are required to attend any of the Out Loud! events, but preregistration is requested. To register, visit www.metrolibrarynetwork.org/outloud and select the author event you wish to attend. Alternately, patrons can contact any of the Metro libraries or send an email to events@crlibrary.org.

Authors will take questions from the audience and sign books following their presentations.

 

2018 Out Loud! Author Series

  • Lisa Gardner: 7 p.m. June 1
  • Jacqueline Woodson: 7 p.m. June 8
  • Matthew Dicks: 7 p.m. June 22
  • Where: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center, 7725 Kirkwood Blvd. SW, Cedar Rapids
  • Cost: Free, but preregistration is requested at www.metrolibrarynetwork.org/outloud or events@crlibrary.org

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

CONTINUE READING

MORE Books ARTICLES TO READ NEXT ...

Fans of 'The Nightingale' and 'All the Light We Cannot See' might be drawn to Kristin Harmel's latest release, 'The Room on Rue Amelie.' Yet another entry into the World War II historical fiction genre, Harmel attempts to capture ...

Debut novelist Lexie Elliott always wanted to be a writer. Thinking back on a summer vacation with her friends to a farmhouse in France, the idea for this novel was formed. Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb and three other friends ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.