Blue Zones Project teams hired for Marion and Iowa City

  • Photo


The Hotel at Kirkwood Center, Cedar Rapids, hired Ploy Chumnanont (see photo) as its banquet manager.

Infinity Contact Inc., Cedar Rapids, hired Zenna Gustafson (see photo), previously with CAN of Chicago, as human resource director, and Ronda Harriott (see photo), previously with Health Enterprises of Iowa, as executive assistant.

Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield and Healthways has hired Blue Zones Project teams for Marion and Iowa City. Project Marion will be led by Sara Mentzer (see photo) as community program manager, Jordan Carr (see photo) as project manager, Anne Aguirre (see photo) as organization lead and Michelle Sillman (see photo) as engagement lead. Project Iowa City will be led by Shannon Greene as community program manager, Thomas Banta as organization lead, Faithanne Molyneaux as engagement lead and Jennifer Fish as project manager. The local staff will be responsible for implementing Blue Zones programs and principles as the cities work toward Blue Zones Community Certification.

Workplace Learning Connection has hired Cindy Murphy (see photo) as an office associate in the Hiawatha Center, covering Linn, Benton and Jones counties, and Kala Slye (see photo) as an office associate for the Iowa City office, covering Johnson, Iowa, Cedar and Washington counties. Also hired was LaShonda Kennedy (see photo) as Johnson County School and Business liaison. Kennedy previously was with the Denver Public School system.

Apache Inc., Cedar Rapids, hired Gregg Hanson as national sales manager of the eastern region. Hanson, previously with Bearing Distributors Inc., replaces Tom Walsh, who has assumed the national sales manager position of the western region.

Mercy Pediatric Clinic hired Keeli Irwin (see photo), ARNP, C-PNP, MSN, to its temporary outreach clinic at MercyCare Mount Vernon. Irwin previously was with UnityPoint Clinic-Peiatrics.


The Anamosa State Penitentiary has promoted Bret Flickinger (see photo) from registered nurse to nurse supervisor.


IDx LLC, Iowa City, has named Martin G. Carver, former chairman, president and CEO of Bandag Inc., to its board of directors.

Steve Chapman (see photo) of Auxiant, which has a Cedar Rapids office, was named treasurer of the Dupaco board of directors and chairman of the Salary Savings Plan Oversight Committee.


Chris Oberbroeckling (see photo), an agent with Farm Bureau Financial Services in Marion, received the Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow designation.


The Society for Technical Communication Eastern Iowa Chapter will meet 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 8, at New Bo Books in Cedar Rapids. Jean Wilson, mystery author and technical writer, will speak on “The Juggling Author: Work, Writing, Promo and Play.” RSVP at by Friday.  More information available at


“Record-keeping for Small Business,” a SCORE-sponsored workshop, will be from 6:30 to 8 p.m. Thursday at the Marion Public Library, 1095 Sixth Ave. To register for the free event, go to More information available at (319) 431-4574 or


The Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference, “Success: Assured,” will be from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 23 at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. Hoda Kotb (see photo), a Dateline NBC correspondent, will give the closing keynote address, “Ten Years Later: Stories of Adversity and Transformation.” To register for the conference, visit or call the University of Iowa Center for Conferences at 1-(800) 551-9029 or (319) 335-4141.


U.S. Bank, Cedar Rapids, announces its 2013 annual Pinnacle winners: Doug Boe (see photo), commercial relationship manager; Phil Hershner (see photo), trust and investment relationship manager; Joel Kasparek (see photo), private banking relationship manager; and Randy McCunniff (see photo), branch manager, AEGON office. The company also announces its 2013 annual President Club winners: Tim Buckley (see photo), home mortgage sales manager; James Erickson (see photo), home mortgage originator; and Anne Schneider (see photo), home mortgage regional manager.

Scott R. Schroeder (see photo) of Schroeder & Associates Insurance Agency, Mechanicsville, received the 2013 Grow Your Business Award from KHI Solutions.

Express Employment Professionals, Hiawatha, has won Inavero’s Best of Staffing Client Award for the fifth straight year.

The Old Capitol Sertoma Club of Iowa City and Coralville announces Dr. Geraldene Felton has been selected to receive the 2014 Service to Mankind Award, given annually to non-Sertoma members who demonstrate exemplary commitment to public service. The presentation will be made May 9 at the University Club in Iowa City.

The Cedar Rapids Fire Department’s Central Fire Station received the 2014 Merit Award from the Fire Industry Equipment Research Organization for excellence in fire station design and construction.

Michael Krogmann (see photo), fleet manager at 7G Distributing, won first place recognition in the operations division for his “1/6 Barrel Racking” submission at the National Anheuser-Busch “Best Practice” convention.

Five schools within the College Community school district (Prairie View, Prairie Heights, Prairie Ridge and Prairie Crest elementary schools and Prairie Creek Intermediate) received the National USDA HealthierUS School Challenge Silver Award. The award includes a stipend of $2,500.

Shuttleworth & Ingersoll PLC announces 26 of its attorneys have received an “AV” pre-eminent rating by Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Ratings. They are: Connie Alt, Brian D. Bergstrom, John M. Bickel, Kevin J. Caster, Thomas M. Collins, John H. Ehrhart, Dean R. Einck, Richard S. Fry, Richard C. Garberson, Allan L. Harms, William S. Hochstetler, Tricia Hoffman-Simanek, Robert D. Houghton, Wesley B. Huisinga, Diane Kutzko, Michael O. McDermott, Dennis J. McMenimen, James C. Nemmers, Steven J. Pace, Thomas P. Peffer, Nancy J. Penner, Jennifer E. Rinden, William R. Shuttleworth, William D. Sindlinger, Gary J. Streit and Mark L. Zaiger.

Emily Kress, marketing/communications manager at Alliant Credit Union, has been selected to serve a six-month term in the Iowa Credit Union League’s Innovation Group. Kress, based in Dubuque, manages marketing efforts for both Dubuque and Cedar Rapids offices.


Nominations are being accepted until Monday  by the Cedar Rapids Freedom Festival for heroes. The 2014 Tribute to Heroes Dinner will be June 19. Nomination forms can be found at

Nominations are being accepted until Tuesday by the Iowa Job Honor Awards for its annual awards event to be held June 10 in Cedar Rapids. The awards will celebrate Iowans who have overcome significant barriers to employment and the employers who hire them. Nominations can be made through the organization’s website,

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.