Prep Wrestling

Lisbon crowns 4 champions to win Mount Vernon Invitational

Lions win all 4 title bouts, Mount Vernon and West Liberty crown 2 apiece

MOUNT VERNON — Four consecutive finalists. Four straight champions.

One cluster of lower to middle weight talent.

Lisbon was perfect in title matches, crowning four champions and capturing the team title Saturday at the Mount Vernon Invitational. The Class 1A third-ranked Lions tallied 221 points, 16 ahead of runner-up Davenport Assumption.

Top-ranked Cael Happel (126), No. 7 Robert Avila Jr. (132), top-ranked 138-pounder Cobe Siebrecht and No. 8 Ryne Mohrfeld at 145 won their brackets and make up a potent part of the Lions’ lineup.

“They all looked pretty good,” Smith said. “We beat some pretty good wrestlers there.

“Cael has been wrestling lights out, as well as Robert and Cobe. Ryne is a tough kid. A big win for him.”

Happel, Avila and Siebrecht were dominant in the finals. Happel handled Louisa-Muscatine’s Cody Calvelage 16-1 in the final. Siebrecht needed just 29 seconds to deck West Liberty’s Talen Dengler for gold, pinning his way through the bracket.

Avila, a freshman, was impressive. He scored nine takedowns in the championship for a 21-7 major decision over Assumption’s Jacob Felderman, ranked 10th in 2A.

“I felt pretty good today,” Avila said. “I felt I could have moved my feet more but overall it was a good. I’m just glad I could showcase my talent and got a couple good wins.”


Avila opened with a fall and closed with 37 total points in his last two bouts against ranked foes. He trounced Wapello’s Daniel Meeker, a returning state finalist who is top-ranked at 126. Avila said he is at best when he is offensive.

“That’s my style,” Avila said. “If I could score 100 points that is what I’m aiming for. Just keep going and going, pushing the pace non-stop.”

Like Avila, Mohrfeld beat a ranked opponent in the final. Mohrfeld scored a third-period takedown for an 8-6 victory over Dyersville Beckman’s No. 9 Grant Hoeger in the final.

“It feels good,” Mohrfeld said. “It’s a confidence boost for sure, but there’s always more work to do.”

Mohrfeld’s match was a back-and-forth affair. Mohr earned the first takedown but Hoeger took a 3-2 lead before the second period. Mohrfeld sandwiched a takedown between two escapes for a 6-5 edge before the third. Hoeger tied the score, but Mohrfeld willed himself to the decisive score.

“I don’t really remember a lot of it,” Mohrfeld said. “I’m not going to lie.

“I know I got lazy. I just realized I had to do what I had to do.”

The host Mustangs finished third with two champions and 174 points. West Liberty matched Mount Vernon in champions, placing fourth with 152 ½ points.

Mount Vernon’s Ryan Clark (120) and top-ranked 170-pounder Paul Ryan grabbed titles. Ryan stuck Muscatine’s Tim Nimley in 2:57 in the final. Ryan pinned his way through the field.


Thank you for signing up for our e-newsletter!

You should start receiving the e-newsletters within a couple days.

“In the last match, that guy was really strong,” Ryan said. “I had to tire him out a little bit. I’ve got to score where I can get points.

“It was fun, that’s for sure.”

West Liberty’s Coy Ruess and Austin Beaver won titles at 152 and 160, respectively.

Tristin Westphal-Edwards, of Washington (Iowa) pinned Assumption’s fifth-ranked Kole Kreinbring in the 182 final. Westphal-Edwards, ranked second at 170, had bookend pins and a semifinal major decision.

Cascade’s seventh-ranked Aidan Noonan beat Mediapolis’ No. 10 Quinten Aney, 9-0, for the 113-pound title. 


At Mount Vernon

Teams — 1. Lisbon 221, 2. Davenport Assumption 204.5, 3. Mount Vernon 174, 4. West Liberty 152.5, 5. Washington (Iowa) 127, 6. Muscatine 103.5, 7. Louisa-Muscatine 86, 8. Cascade 72, 9. Dyersville Beck-man 69.5, 10. Wapsie Valley 67, 11. East Buchanan 66, 12. C.R. Xavier 53, 13. (tie) Mid-Prairie and Wapello 39, 15. Marion 31, 16. Mediapolis 23, 17. Sigourney-Keota 6.

Championship matches

106 — Ethan Forker (DA) pinned Alex Beaver (WL), 1:28

113 — Aidan Noonan (Cas) major dec. Quinten Aney (Mepo), 9-0

120 — Ryan Clark (MV) won by medical forfeit over Walker Ikerd (Wash)

126 — Cael Happel (Lis) tech. fall Cody Calvelage (L-M), 16-1

132 — Robert Avila Jr. (Lis) major dec. Jacob Felderman (DA), 21-7

138 — Cobe Siebrecht (Lis) pinned Talen Dengler (WL),: 29

145 — Ryne Mohrfeld (Lis) dec. Grant Hoeger (DB), 8-6

152 — Coy Ruess (WL) won by injury default over David Hora (Wash)

160 — Austin Beaver (WL) major dec. Nick Casey (MV), 8-0

170 — Paul Ryan (MV) pinned Tim Nimley (Mus), 2:57

182 — Tristin Westphal-Edwards (Wash) pinned Kole Kreinbring (DA), 3:27

195 — Julien Broderson (DA) pinned Owen Grover (DB), 2:23

220 — Seth Adrian (DA) dec. Kobe Simon (WL), 5-1

Hwt. — Rylan Duffy (WV) pinned Gabe Hayes (L-M), 1:39.

l Comments: (319) 368-8679;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.