Iowa's Megan Gustafson named Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year

She is first Hawkeye to win that award in 25 years

Iowa's Megan Gustafson (10) defends Maryland's Shakira Austin during a women's basketball game at Carver-Hawkeye Arena o
Iowa’s Megan Gustafson (10) defends Maryland’s Shakira Austin during a women’s basketball game at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on 2.17.19. (Cliff Jette /The Gazette)

Megan Gustafson added to her pile of awards Wednesday when she was named the Big Ten Conference’s 2018-19 Female Athlete of the Year.

The consensus women’s basketball Player of the Year is the first Iowa student since to earn that honor since 1994 when Kristy Gleason (field hockey) was recognized.

Gustafson already had become the first Big Ten women’s basketball player to be named consensus national player of the year (Associated Press, ESPN, Naismith and the United States Basketball Writers Association).

She was awarded Iowa’s Big Ten Medal of Honor and Iowa Female Athlete of the Year in May after leading the nation in five categories as a senior including points per game (27.8), field goal percentage (69.6), total points (1,001) and double-doubles (33). She also holds three conference career records.

Penn State wrestler Bo Nickal was named the league’s Male Athlete of the Year.


Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.