Prep Wrestling

Lisbon roars through Tri-Rivers wrestling meet with seven titlists, second straight team crown

Lions set school record for conference-meet points (257), and 13 of 14 wrestlers place in top 3

ALBURNETT — The Lisbon wrestling team has that familiar postseason look about it.

The defending Class 1A state champions in both the traditional and dual wrestling state tournaments roared into the Tri-Rivers Conference wrestling championships with eight ranked wrestlers, seven of which earned individual titles as the Lions easily won the team crown Saturday at Alburnett High School.

“That’s pretty darn good,” Lisbon Coach Brad Smith said. ”We’ve got some good kids in this conference. I’m real proud of the kids.”

This was the second conference crown in a row for Lisbon, which established a school record for points at the conference meet (257) and had 13 of 14 wrestlers finish in the top three.

The Lions were led by top-ranked 120-pound sophomore Cael Happel (42-2), who pinned his semifinal opponent in 19 seconds, then vanquished Kal Hoeger of Edgewood-Colesburg for the title in just 43 ticks.

“It was my offense,” Happel said. “It always works when I set it up. It’s offense and pins, that’s all it was today.”

Second-ranked Cobe Seibrecht (42-1) needed less than two total minutes to pin both of his opponents in the 126-pound bracket, while eighth-ranked Ryne Mohrfeld (36-12) scored an 11-2 major decision over Griffen Gravel of Midland in the 132-pound championship match.

For the second time in less than two weeks, Lisbon senior Cooper Siebrecht — ranked fourth at 145 — edged third-ranked Braydon Nunemaker of East Buchanan. Siebrecht (41-5) held onto a slim 4-3 advantage throughout the entire third period.


“Just non-stop moving,” Cooper Siebrecht said. “I had to stay in and keep getting shots off, keep blocking his shots. Just keep battling.”

Kaden Kilburg (152) and Bryce Werderman (170) — both ranked third in their respective weight classes — each won titles, as did ninth-ranked Logan O’Connor (38-9), who needed an ultimate tiebreaker to defeat No. 10 Brett Schoenherr of Midland, 4-3, at 220.

Maxwell McGraw (138), Heath Weber (182) and Luke Recker (285) all earned individual titles for second-place East Buchanan (178.5). Edgewood-Colesburg had no titlists, but finished third overall with 140 points.

Fifth-place Maquoketa Valley (129.5 points) had one champion in 160-pounder Mitch Smith, while host Alburnett won crowns with both if its No. 1-ranked wrestlers. At 106, junior Jaymus Wilson (34-3) pinned Damon Huston of Midland in 28 seconds, while senior Tanner Sloan (40-1) won the 195-pound crown with a pin of Lisbon’s Cole Clark in 1:40.

“Just go out there and work my stuff,” Sloan said. “It wasn’t much competition here for me, but get ready for state.”

Fifth-ranked Heath Moyer (36-4) won the 113-pound title for sixth-place North Linn (94.5 points).


At Alburnett

Teams — 1. Lisbon 257, 2. East Buchanan 178.5, 3. Edgewood-Colesburg 140, 4. Maquoketa Valley 129.5, 5. Alburnett 129, 6. North Linn 94.5, 7. Midland 89, 8. Central City 40.

Championship matches

106 — Class 1A No. 1 Jaymus Wilson (Alburnett) pinned Damon Huston (Midland), 0:28.


Thank you for signing up for our e-newsletter!

You should start receiving the e-newsletters within a couple days.

113 — Class 1A No. 5 Heath Moyer (North Linn) pinned Cade Cook (Alburnett), 3:18.

120 — Class 1A No. 1 Cael Happel (Lisbon) pinned Kal Hoeger (Edgewood-Colesburg), 1:22.

126 — Class 1A No. 2 Cobe Siebrecht (Lisbon) pinned Trevor Gudenkauf (Midland), 1:09.

132 — Class 1A No. 8 Ryne Mohrfeld (Lisbon) maj. dec. Griffen Gravel (Midland), 11-2.

138 — Maxwell McGraw (East Buchanan) pinned Trevor Cherry (North Linn), 4:24.

145 — Class 1A No. 4 Cooper Siebrecht (Lisbon) dec. No. 3 Braydon Nunemaker (East Buchanan), 4-3.

152 — Class 1A No. 3 Kaden Kilburg (Lisbon) dec. Killian Welsh (Edgewood-Colesburg), 1-0.

160 — Mitch Smith (Maquoketa Valley) dec. Spencer Amling (Edgewood-Colesburg), 5-1.


170 — Class 1A No. 3 Bryce Werderman (Lisbon) pinned Kanan Morris (Alburnett), 3:52.

182 — Heath Weber (East Buchanan) dec. Jake Jennett (Lisbon), 3-2.

195 — Class 1A No. 1 Tanner Sloan (Alburnett) pinned Cole Clark (Lisbon), 1:40.

220 — Class 1A No. 9 Logan O’Connor (Lisbon) dec. No. 10 Brett Schoenherr (Midland), 4-3 (ultimate tie breaker).

285 — Luke Recker (East Buchanan) dec. Michael Feldmann (Maquoketa Valley), 5-1.

l Comments:

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.


Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.