Iowa Men's Basketball

Iowa finalizes 2018-19 nonconference men's basketball schedule

Welcome back, Alabama State Hornets!

The final touches have been put on the University of Iowa’s men’s basketball nonconference schedule for the upcoming season, and they aren’t anything special.

Nine of the 11 nonconference games had already been announced. The last two dates will be filled by Alabama State at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on Nov. 21 and Western Carolina at Carver on Dec. 18.

It will be the second-straight year Alabama State has played at Iowa. The Hawkeyes defeated the Hornets last year in Iowa City, 92-58. Alabama State was 8-23 in 2017-18.


Western Carolina of the Southern Conference went 13-19 last season.

The highlights of the Iowa nonconference slate are games against Oregon and either Connecticut or Syracuse in the 2K Classic in New York, a Dec. 6 home game against Iowa State, and a meeting with Northern Iowa in Des Moines Dec. 15 in the final Hy-Vee Classic.

Iowa’s 20 Big Ten games have been determined. The dates have yet to be released. The Hawkeyes will play seven Big Ten teams twice and six teams once. Iowa will face Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers, and Wisconsin twice. Iowa will host Illinois, Maryland and Michigan, and travel to Minnesota, Penn State and Purdue.

The nonconference schedule (All games are in Iowa City unless otherwise noted):

Sun., Nov. 4 Guilford College (exhibition)

Thurs., Nov. 8 UMKC

Sun, Nov. 11 Green Bay

Thurs., Nov. 15 vs. Oregon (New York)

Fri., Nov. 16 vs. Connecticut or Syracuse (New York)

Wed., Nov. 21 Alabama State

Tues., Nov. 27 Pittsburgh (ACC/Big Ten Challenge)

Thurs., Dec. 6 Iowa State

Sat., Dec. 15 vs. Northern Iowa (Des Moines)

Tues., Dec. 18 Western Carolina

Sat., Dec. 22 Savannah State

Sat., Dec. 29 Bryant

l Comments: (319) 368-8840; mike.hlas@thegazette.com

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

CONTINUE READING

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.