Gov. Reynolds appoints Susie Weinacht to Iowa Parole Board

City Council member Susie Weinacht looks on during a Cedar Rapids City Council meeting in the Council Chambers at City H
City Council member Susie Weinacht looks on during a Cedar Rapids City Council meeting in the Council Chambers at City Hall in Cedar Rapids on Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2018. (The Gazette)

CEDAR RAPIDS — Former Cedar Rapids City Council member Susie Weinacht has been nominated to serve a four-year term on the Iowa Parole Board.

Gov. Kim Reynolds on Monday appointed Weinacht, along with Andrew Boettger of Cambridge, vice chair, and Ralph Haskins of West Des Moines, who already is a board member.

The appointees are subject to confirmation by the Iowa Senate, which typically votes on board and commission appointees in April.

The board has five full-time members, including a chair and vice chair with full-time salaried positions. The other members are considered part time and receive $317.84 per workday. The board typically has three hearings a week.

Weinacht, who is an alternate parole board member, did not seek a third term on City Council. Her at-large seat was filled by Pat Loeffler.

Reynolds also announced dozens of other appointees to boards and commissions, who also would be subject to Senate approval.

Among other Eastern Iowans appointed:

Timothy Bower of Fairfield, Rhonda McRina of Waterloo and Kristen Rickey of Manchester, to the Board of Educational Examiners; Rafaela Cadena of Marion, Child Advocacy Board; Carly Armour of Iowa City, Commission of Deaf Services; Randolph Fehr of Washington, Higher Education Loan Authority; Diane Venenga of Iowa City, Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council; Jeffrey Garrett of Washington, Investment Board of IPERS; Nathaniel Ristow of Williamsburg, Interstate Compact Council for Adult and Juvenile Offenders; Terry Eagle of Muscatine, Mississippi River Parkway Planning Commission; Jason Martin-Hiner of Decorah, Northeast Regional STEM Advisory Board; Matt Grillot of DeWitt and Amy Robasse of Mount Vernon, Statewide Independent Living Council; and Don Kearney of Marion, state Sen. Liz Mathis of Hiawatha, Mary Meisterling of Cedar Rapids and Steven Triplett of North Liberty, STEM Advisory Council.

Comments: (319) 398-8310;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.