Corridor businesspeople named to Clinton advisory panel

U.S. Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton smiles as she speaks with owner Mike Draper while visiting Raygun,
U.S. Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton smiles as she speaks with owner Mike Draper while visiting Raygun, a clothing store, in Des Moines, Iowa August 10, 2016. REUTERS/Chris Keane

CEDAR RAPIDS — Six Corridor businesspeople have been named to Hillary Clinton’s Small Business Advisory Council.

The panel will highlight Clinton’s plan for small businesses and her efforts to streamline regulation, provide tax relief and simplification, boost access to capital and expand access to new markets.

This plan is designed to make life easier for Iowa’s 264,000 small businesses by allowing them to cut through red tape, get access to loans and reduce paperwork, according to Hillary for Iowa.

Among those named to the panel are former state legislator Tyler Olson of SiteGen Solar and Shawn Gallagher of Adcraft Printing, both in Cedar Rapids; Cindy Riley of Winans Chocolates and Coffee in Coralville; and Veronica Tessler of Yotopia, and Nick Westergaard and Meghann Foster of Brand Driven Digital, all in Iowa City.

“Hillary Clinton understands what it means to run a family-owned small business, because her father ran a small business that provided her with the opportunity for a better life,” said Bryce Smith, owner of Adel Family Fun Center. “I am so proud when she says she wants to be the Small Business President, which is why I am with her.”

Clinton’s plan calls for making it easier to start a business by pushing state and local governments to cut red tape and streamline unnecessary licensing programs, making it cheaper and faster to file taxes and provide tax relief by allowing a standard deduction for small businesses and making tax filing as easy as printing a bank statement and making it easier to get financing and find investors, including by streamlining regulation and cutting red tape for community banks and credit unions.

Other members of the advisory council are: Jeno Berta, Berta Lawfirm LLC, Mid-American Glass Inc., Nassr Muhammad, Nally’s Kitchen, Celebrity Styles Wig Club, all of Davenport; Lisa Fratianni, TLC In-Home Care Services, Inc. Clinton; Carolyn Jenison, Speak PR, Des Moines; Steve Kraus, Biokinemetrics, Inc., Carroll; Melissa Law, Law Automotive, Keokuk; Brad Magg, Goldie’s Ice Cream Shoppe, Prairie City; Michelle Magyar, Joan Minikus, Greener Times Inc., Council Bluffs; Mary Oberender, Miscellaneous Possibilities, Dallas Center; Lonnie Ray, Linda and Karl Reichert, Strawberry Farm Bed and Breakfast, Muscatine; Bill Robinson, Robinson and Son Masonry, Ottumwa; Bryce Smith, Adel Family Fun Center, Adel; Dawn Sturm, Dawn’s Beauty Salon, Manilla; and ReShonda Young, Popcorn Heaven, Waterloo & Des Moines.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.