Eastern Iowa lawmakers named to Legislature leadership posts

The Iowa House debates SF220 in the House Chambers of the Iowa Capitol Building in Des Moines on Wednesday, Mar. 14, 201
The Iowa House debates SF220 in the House Chambers of the Iowa Capitol Building in Des Moines on Wednesday, Mar. 14, 2018. SF220, which passed the House 76-21, regulates automated traffic cameras. (Stephen Mally/The Gazette)

CEDAR RAPIDS — Eleven Eastern Iowa Republicans will chair committees when the Legislature convenes in January.

Senate President Jack Whitver, R-Ankeny, named five senators and House Speaker Linda Upmeyer, R-Clear Lake, named six representatives to the leadership positions.

In the House, Rep. Lee Hein of Monticello will chair the Ways and Means Committee, which is expected to consider changes to the state’s tax code after last year’s largest income tax cut in state history. He has been a Ways and Means member since he was first elected in 2010 and previously led the Agriculture Committee.

Area lawmakers Rep. Ashley Hinson of Marion and Sen. Tim Kapucian of Keystone will chair the Transportation committees in their respective chambers.

Other Eastern Iowa House chairs include: Andy McKean of Anamosa, Ethics; Dean Fisher of Tama, Environmental Protection; Shannon Lundgren of Peosta, Human Resources; Bobby Kaufmann of Wilton, State Government; and Jarad Klein of Keota, Public Safety.

In the Senate, Eastern Iowa chairs are Michael Breitbach of Strawberry Point, Appropriations; Dan Zumbach of Ryan, Agriculture; and Craig Johnson of Independence, Transportation, Infrastructure and Capitals.

Other House chairs are: Megan Jones of Sioux Rapids, Administrative Rules Review; Ross Paustian of Walcott, Agriculture; Pat Grassley, New Hartford, Appropriations; Gary Carlson of Muscatine; Commerce; Skyler Wheeler of Orange City, Economic Growth; Cecil Dolecheck of Mount Ayr, Education; Mary Ann Hanusa of Council Bluffs, Governmental Oversight; Steve Holt of Denison, Judiciary; Dave Deyoe of Nevada, Labor; Jane Bloomingdale; Rob Bacon of Slater, Natural Resources; and Sandy Salmon of Janesville, Veterans Affairs.


Other Senate chairs are: Randy Feenstra of Hull, Ways and Means; Amy Sinclair of Allerton, Education and Government Oversight; Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Ottumwa, Human Resources; Brad Zaun of Urbandale, Judiciary; Roby Smith of Davenport, State Government; Tim Kapucian of Keystone, Transportation; Ken Rozenboom of Oskaloosa, Natural Resources; Jake Chapman of Adel, Commerce; Mark Costello of Imogene, Ethics; Jason Schultz of Schleswig, Labor; Jeff Edler of State Center, Local Government; Whitver, Rules; and Dan Dawson of Council Bluffs, Veterans Affairs.

Appropriations subcommittee co-chairs are (House/Senate): Joel Fry, Osceola, and Costello, Health and Human Services; David Kerr, Morning Sun, and Tim Kraayenbrink, Fort Dodge, Education; Gary Worthan, Storm Lake, and Julian Garrett, Indianola, Justice Systems; Brian Best, Glidden, and Mark Lofgren, Muscatine, Economic Development; Gary Mohr, Bettendorf, and Johnson, Transportation, Infrastructure and Capitals; John Landon, Ankeny, and Dennis Guth, Klemme, Administration and Regulation; and Norlin Mommsen, DeWitt, and Tom Shipley, Nodaway, Agriculture and Natural Resources.

• Comments: (319) 398-8375;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.