Pro-casino group releases list of 58 investors

Opponents have been asking for a list for weeks

A slot machine at the Diamond Jo Casino in Northwood, IA. (File photo)
A slot machine at the Diamond Jo Casino in Northwood, IA. (File photo)

CEDAR RAPIDS — For weeks, the Just Say No Casino campaign has been calling for a list of investors in a proposed Cedar Rapids area casino.

On Monday, Vote Yes Linn County released a list of 58 investors, including the group’s leader, Steve Gray.

“The investors in this casino are local people and have strong ties to Linn County,” Steve Gray, founder of Gray Venture Partners, said about himself and the others. “We are supporting the casino and encouraging others in Linn County to do the same.”

Scott Stines of Cedar Rapids, a member of the Just Say No Casino group, on Monday wondered why Gray hadn’t released the information months ago.

“Why are they waiting until the last minute to release this vital information?” Stines said in a statement. “Because the people of Linn County are demanding answers. Unfortunately, this list is incomplete. Just like all the communication that has come from casino investors, it doesn’t give us the whole story.”

Gray on Monday said the investor group, Cedar Rapids Development Group LLC, was continuing to add investors through the end of January and thus was waiting until now to make the names public.

In recent days, the Vote Yes Linn County campaign had said the investor group was larger, but Marcia Rogers, the campaign communications director, on Monday said she had misspoken.

The investors who now are announcing support for the casino are:Steve Allsop, Pat Baird, Jodi Balvanz, Jim Balvanz, Larry Bergdale, John Bloomhall, Barry Boyer, Tom Brown, Scott Byers, Craig Byers, Brad Canfield, Pat Cobb, Jim Cownie, Tami Culver, Todd Culver, Chad Dummermuth, Maria Dummermuth, George Grask, Steve Gray, Stephen Griggs, Jerry Haman, Frederick M. Haumesser, Tom Hayden, Dennis Henderson, Kirk Kaalberg, Bob Kazimour, Steve C. King, William C. Knapp, Jim Lamb, Bill Lehman, Bruce Lehrman, Tom Leidigh, Clark McLeod, Jared Morris, Jon Morris, Peg Morris, Waldo Morris, Russ Nieland, Jason Olejniczak, Lon Olejniczak, Doug Olson, Kevin Powell, Randy Rings, Charlie Rohde, Gary Rozek, David Rusch, Drew Skogman, Jo Ann Skogman, Mick Slinger, Max Smith, John Smith, Duane Smith, Jason Smith, Elizabeth Trcka, David Verhille, Jeff Witter, David Young and Tami Young. 

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.