Marion's Chloe Rice, Corby Laube headline all-Metro girls' basketball team

Marion duo sweeps top honors

  • Photo

Marion’s Chloe Rice and Corby Laube swept the top individual awards for the 2017 all-Metro girls’ basketball team. The duo combined to lead the Indians to a 22-1 record, a Class 4A No. 1 ranking and a spot in next week’s state tournament. 


Kennedy Dighton, sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Sarah Schmitt, soph., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Lexi Noonan, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Hailey Dolphin, jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Kamryn Finley, jr., Linn-Mar; Kayba Laube, fr., Marion; Chloe Rice, jr., Marion.

Player of the year — Rice.

Coach of the year — Corby Laube, Marion.


Mia Laube, jr., Marion; Caitlyn Smith, jr., Marion; Carly Spies, jr., Linn-Mar; Jayla Johnson, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Sammy Mia, soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; Erica Oler, jr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Kylie Brown, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Sidney McCrea, fr., Cedar Rapids Prairie.


Randi Wright and Sophie Willette, Marion; Ally Johnson and Lexi Frese, Linn-Mar; Amelia Ivester and Caitlynn Daniels, Xavier; Avery Guy and Kylie Wise, Jefferson; Auddie Alepra and Olivia Hellweg, Kennedy; Isa Truemper and Caitlyn Riley, Washington; Mallory McDermott and Jenna Wagemester, Prairie.

l Comments: (319) 368-8857;

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.