Girls Basketball

Iowa high school girls' basketball: Mock regional pairings

IGHSAU will release the real brackets in about 2 weeks

Springville’s Rylee Menster (left) and Mikayla Nachazel celebrate at the 2017 state basketball tournament. The Orioles are ranked No. 1 in Class 1A and are pursuing their third straight state championship. (Jim Slosiarek/The Gazette)
Springville’s Rylee Menster (left) and Mikayla Nachazel celebrate at the 2017 state basketball tournament. The Orioles are ranked No. 1 in Class 1A and are pursuing their third straight state championship. (Jim Slosiarek/The Gazette)

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union will release regional pairings the week of Jan. 22 (3A-2A-1A) and the week of Jan. 29 (5A-4A).

Here are The Gazette’s first mock brackets (top regional seed denoted with an asterisk), updated Jan. 11:

Class 5A

Region 1

Des Moines North at Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson (winner at West Des Moines Dowling)

Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln at West Des Moines Valley

Region 2

Des Moines Roosevelt at Fort Dodge (winner at Johnston*)

Urbandale at Indianola

Region 3

Marshalltown at Waterloo West (winner at Waukee*)

Des Moines East at Cedar Rapids Prairie

Region 4

Sioux City North at Sioux City East (winner at Southeast Polk*)

Sioux City West at Ankeny Centennial

Region 5

Des Moines Lincoln at Ottumwa (winner at Iowa City High*)

Cedar Rapids Kennedy at Dubuque Hempstead

Region 6

Dubuque Senior at Linn-Mar (winner at Cedar Falls*)

Cedar Rapids Jefferson at Cedar Rapids Washington

Region 7

Davenport Central at Burlington (winner at Iowa City West*)

Ankeny at Ames

Region 8

Davenport West at Muscatine (winner at Pleasant Valley*)

Davenport North at Bettendorf

Class 4A

Region 1

Spencer at Webster City (winner at Le Mars*)

Storm Lake at Sioux City Heelan (winner at Sergeant Bluff-Luton)

Region 2

Carroll at Harlan (winner at Lewis Central*)

Glenwood at Adel ADM (winner at Dallas Center-Grimes)

Region 3

Perry at Winterset (winner at Boone*)

Des Moines Hoover at Knoxville (winner at Denison-Schleswig)

Region 4

Norwalk at Carlisle (winner at Mason City*)

Newton at Ballard (winner at Pella)

Region 5

Waterloo East at Bondurant-Farrar (winner at Grinnell*)

Charles City at Waverly-Shell Rock (winner at Cedar Rapids Xavier)

Region 6

Independence at Decorah (winner at Center Point-Urbana*)

Oskaloosa at Clear Creek Amana (winner at Fairfield)

Region 7

Clinton at DeWitt Central (winner at North Scott*)

Dubuque Wahlert at Maquoketa (winner at Western Dubuque)

Region 8

Washington at Iowa City Liberty (winner at Marion*)

Fort Madison at Keokuk (winner at Mount Pleasant)

Class 3A

Region 1

MOC-Floyd Valley at Sioux Center*

Ida Grove OA-BCIG at East Sac County

Atlantic at Red Oak

Creston at Shenandoah

Region 2

Estherville ELC at Cherokee*

Sheldon at Spirit Lake

Humboldt at South Central Calhoun

Pocahontas Area at Algona

Region 3

Saydel at Roland-Story*

Gilbert at Chariton

Greene County at Carroll Kuemper

Clarke at North Polk

Region 4

South Hardin at Osage*

Clarion CGD at Southeast Valley

Hampton-Dumont at Forest City

Garner GHV at Iowa Falls-Alden

Region 5

Vinton-Shellsburg at Clear Lake*

Union Community at Oelwein

Benton Community at New Hampton

Waterloo Columbus at South Tama

Region 6

Williamsburg at Nevada*

Eddyville EBF at Albia

Monroe PCM at West Marshall

Centerville at Mid-Prairie

Region 7

West Delaware at Crestwood*

North Fayette Valley at Waukon

Northeast at Monticello

Dyersville Beckman at Anamosa

Region 8

Tipton at Davenport Assumption*

Solon at Mount Vernon

West Liberty at Camanche

Davis County at Central Lee

Class 2A

Region 1

Hartley HMS at Rock Valley (winner at West Sioux*)

Sibley-Ocheyedan at Central Lyon (winner at West Lyon)

Lake Mills at South O’Brien (winner at North Union)

Belmond-Klemme at Okoboji (winner at Central Springs)

Region 2

Boyden-Hull at Alta-Aurelia (winner at Western Christian*)

Hinton at Woodbury Central (winner at Unity Chritian)

Fort Dodge St. Edmond at Manson-NW Webster (winner at Emmetsburg)

Eagle Grove at Ridge View (winner at Sioux Central)

Region 3

Lawton-Bronson at Mapleton MVAO-COU (winner at Logan-Magnolia*)

Woodward-Granger at West Central Valley (winner at IKM-Manning)

Missouri Valley at Avoca AHSTW (winner at Underwood)

Guthrie Center ACGC at Tri-Center (winner at Council Bluffs St. Albert)

Region 4

Southwest Valley at Sidney (winner at Treynor*)

Clarinda at Mount Ayr (winner at Nodaway Valley)

Van Meter at Wayne (winner at Des Moines Christian)

Interstate 35 at Martensdale-St. Marys (winner at Earlham)

Region 5

Ogden at Pleasantville (winner at Panorama*)

Colfax-Mingo at Madrid (winner at Pella Christian)

Conrad BCLUW at South Hamilton (winner at Grundy Center)

East Marshall at Hudson (winner at Aplington-Parkersburg)

Region 6

Wapsie Valley at South Winneshiek (winner at Cascade*)

Clayton Ridge at Sumner-Fredericksburg (winner at MFL MarMac)

Nashua-Plainfield at Saint Ansgar (winner at Dike-New Hartford)

Starmont at Denver (winner at Maquoketa Valley)

Region 7

Lisbon at Jesup (winner at North Linn*)

Alburnett at East Buchanan

Belle Plaine at Highland (winner at Sigourney)

Cardinal at Van Buren (winner at Pekin)

Region 8

North Cedar at West Branch (winner at Iowa City Regina*)

Columbus Community at Danville (winner at Wilton)

Durant at Wapello (winner at Bellevue)

Louisa-Muscatine at West Burlington (winner at Mediapolis)

Class 1A

Region 1

Newell-Fonda*, bye

Harris-Lake Park at George-Little Rock

Ruthven GTRA, bye

West Bend-Mallard at Marcus MMCRU

Westwood, bye

Trinity Christian at Siouxland Christian

Remsen St. Mary’s at Le Mars Gehlen

West Harrison at Akron-Westfield

Region 2

Kingsley-Pierson*, bye

Whiting at Clay Central-Everly

West Monona, bye

River Valley at Ar-We-Va

Boyer Valley, bye

Coon Rapids-Bayard at Heartland Christian

Woodbine at Glidden-Ralston

Oakland Riverside at East Mills

Region 3

Ackley AGWSR*, bye

Gladbrook-Reinbeck at North Butler

Janesville, bye

Waterloo Christian at Dunkerton

Algona Garrigan, bye

Rockford at Paton-Churdan

Latimer CAL at Colo-Nesco

Storm Lake St. Mary’s at Mason City Newman

Region 4

Exira-EHK*, bye

Audubon at Grand View Christian

Iowa Christian Academy at Anita CAM

Baxter at Collins-Maxwell

Montezuma, bye

BGM at Garwin GMG

HLV at Lynnville-Sully

North Tama at Meskwaki

Region 5

Central Decatur*, bye

South Page at Stanton

Diagonal, bye

Lenox at Lamoni

Murray, bye

Orient-Macksburg at East Union

Bedford at Fremont-Mills

Essex at Griswold

Region 6

West Hancock*, bye

Northwood-Kensett at North Iowa

Clarksville, bye

Riceville at Don Bosco

Lansing Kee, bye

Tripoli at Edgewood-Colesburg

West Central at Bellevue Marquette

Elkader Central at Turkey Valley

Region 7

North Mahaska*, bye

Iowa Mennonite at Tri-County

English Valleys, bye

Keota at Iowa Valley

Seymour, bye

Moulton-Udell at Moravia

Twin Cedars at Southeast Warren

Mormon Trail at Melcher-Dallas

Region 8

Springville*, bye

Calamus-Wheatland at Central City

Easton Valley, bye

Clinton Prince of Peace at Midland

Cedar Valley Christian, bye

Lone Tree at WACO

New London at Winfield-Mount Union

Burlington Notre Dame at Fort Madison Holy Trinity

l Comments: (319) 368-8857;



CEDAR RAPIDS - A federal judge reset a detention hearing Thursday for a former Iowa Barnstormers coach, who is charged with secretly recording three naked teen players. Greg Stephen, 42, was arrested Tuesday. Police were initiall ...

Editor's note: Mike Winker, 53. is the former activities director at Cedar Rapids Xavier High School. He now is in his second year as a lecturer at the University of Iowa. He teaches in the Sport and Recreation Management Program, ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.