Moser athletes honored on state, national level

Recreation notebook: Swisher's Ian Johnston wins golf title

  • Photo

Moser School of Dance and Gymnastics athletes Jacob Gasper and Breanna Vaske of Manchester and Madison Habel of Dyersville were awarded Iowa State USTA and National USTA scholarships.

At the USTA nationals, Gasper was voted winner of the Kevin Ballenger Memorial Scholarship from a field of 40 nominees. He also was selected to receive the Reegan Robertson Memorial Scholarship in the state of Iowa.

Kiley Wall of Monticello was awarded the 2016 Iowa USTA Sportsmanship Award for demonstrating leadership and sportsmanship inside and outside of the gym, Bailey Andersen of Independence was awarded the 2016 USTA Vickie Wilson Spirit award for her good character, leadership, service to her family, team, school, and community.

Katie Boeding of Hopkinton was awarded the first 4-Ds Dennis Harget Memorial Scholarship (dedication, determination, desire, drive).

Boeding, Gasper, Brooke Lucas of Guttenberg, Katelyn Mangold of Manchester, Cierra Weipert of Farmersburg, and Noa, Emma and Ella Marting of Jesup were honored for their years at the elite level.


DeWITT — Ian Johnston, 15, of Swisher won the Iowa PGA Junior Lexus Lujack Classic at Springbrook Country Club last weekend for the second time.

Johnston shot an even-par 70 on the first day and followed that up with a 75 to win by 9 strokes. He was the Saturday medalist in all divisions.

Johnston will be a sophomore at Cedar Rapids Prairie this fall.

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.