Prep Sports

Cedar Rapids YMCA teams shine at state swimming meet

Community: 19 from Moser gymnastics win gold

Chris Mudanya swims at the YMCA state meet. (Timothy Flynn photography)
Chris Mudanya swims at the YMCA state meet. (Timothy Flynn photography)

More than 900 swimmers from across Iowa packed the Marshalltown Natatorium last weekend for the 2018 YMCA State Championship swimming meet.

Seven swimmers representing two Cedar Rapids YMCA teams were crowned state champions with many others picking up silver and bronze medals.

“Our local Y swimmers swam their heart out this weekend,” said Donald Pirrie, head coach of the MACR Sharks. “They worked hard all season long and that really paid off this weekend.”

The MACR Sharks and Stoney Point Stingrays are two of 34 YMCA competitive swim programs in the state, a program that serves more than 2,600 kids annually.

“A lot of folks don’t realize how big and how competitive YMCA swim programs are,” Pirrie said.

State champions from the Cedar Rapids MACR Sharks were Olivia Thoma in the 200 freestyle, Devon Pirrie in the 200 freestyle, Emma Sorg in the 50 freestyle, Abby Jones in the 200 individual medley and 50 breaststroke, Sydney Jones in the 100 backstroke and Abby Jones in the 100 breaststroke. Jack Lange of the Stoney Point YMCA team won the 50 and 25 backstroke.

MACR Sharks runners-up were Maria Trotta (50 butterfly), Seth Williams (200 free, 100 back), Gabe Coleman (200 freestyle and 400 OM), Andrew Seifert (50 free, 50 butterfly, 50 back), Sydney Jones (50 free and 200 back), Josef Briesemeister (200 IM) and Pirrie (100 back). Katie Slosiarek (50 back) and Lange (50 free) of Stoney Point also finished second.

Bronze medalists from the MACR Sharks were Thoma (200 IM), Williams (100 IM), Meera Julka (50 butterfly), Connor Olson (200 and 100 breaststroke), Briesemeister (100 breaststroke) and Gabe Coleman (500 free). Braydon Calonder (200 free) and Olivia Lindeman (50 free) of Stoney Points also finished third.

The Sharks also won nine relay titles and placed second in 28.

Both programs provide winter and summer seasons for swimmers 6-and-older. Registration for the summer Long Course season starts April 1. Interested swimmer can email Pirrie at


Nineteen members of the Moser School of Dance and Gymnastic won titles at the USTA Power Tumbling meet in Boone.

Moser winners were Hannabelle Erickson, Kyle Peck, Elizabeth Recker, Megan Pierschbacher, Kendall Wagner, Kaleah Belinsky, Tucker Erickson, Memphis Peyton, Ella Vaughn, Kadee Batterson, Myra Peyton, Kaia Engelhardt, Aaliyah Rosenthal, Laura Pierschbacher, Ava Seevell, Kael Peck, Tenleigh Uthoff, Adalyn Fette and Lainey Payne.

Annie Gulick finished second, along with Cheyenne Varner, Isabella Barrett, Taylor Mullis, Kennedi Bevans, Kylie Belinsky, Kennedy Bulman, Allie Esmann, Aubrey Wilson, Gracyn Fangman, Josi Munger, Makenna Payne, Ella Frieden and Madilyn Payne.

Third-place finishers were Makayla Gasper, Gabrielle Guilford, Isabel Lutgen, Ava Nolan, Kreighton Peck, Maddesyn Demmer, Ella Glawatz, Ingrid Vaughn, Baileigh Uthoff and Avery Fette.



CEDAR RAPIDS - With experience comes high expectations.The Xavier girls' tennis team will return all six of its varsity athletes from the 2017 season - seniors Nina Marquardt, Camryn McPherson and Sarah Schirm, juniors Madeline Ab ...

Iowa City Liberty's varsity football existence will begin with a road contest against an intracity foe. The Iowa High School Athletic Association released 2018 and 2019 football schedules Wednesday morning. Liberty's first game i ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.