Iowa, Big Ten Network announce men's hoops non-conference TV times

Hawkeyes get 3 nationally televised non-conference games at Carver-Hawkeye Arena

  • Photo

IOWA CITY — The first game times for Iowa men’s basketball’s 2016-17 season were released Wednesday morning along with Big Ten Network’s entire non-conference television schedule.

The Hawkeyes have three games set to air live on the network.

Iowa home games against Seton Hall on Nov. 17, North Dakota on Dec. 20 and Delaware State on Dec. 22 will be televised nationally, and all three are set to tip off at 8 p.m. at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The game against Seton Hall is part of the second annual Gavitt Games.

Iowa won 13 of its 15 games inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena — going undefeated at home in non-conference — and ranked 19th in the country in average attendance a year ago.

Other notable BTN non-conference games include Oklahoma traveling to Madison, Wis., to take on Wisconsin and Oklahoma State visiting Maryland on Dec. 3. Creighton heads to Nebraska on Dec. 7 and Butler plays Indiana in the Crossroads Classic in Indianapolis on Dec. 17. Dayton plays Northwestern and BYU faces off against Illinois at United Center in Chicago on Dec. 17 as well. Providence plays at Ohio State and St. John’s plays at Minnesota also as part of the Gavitt Games.

The remainder of Iowa’s schedule and start times will be released later this summer, according to a release from Iowa.

Iowa’s 2016-17 Nonconference Men’s Basketball Schedule

Date; Opponent, Location, Time, TV

Fri., Nov. 4; Regis University &, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Fri., Nov. 11; Kennesaw State, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Sun., Nov. 13; Savannah State, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Thurs., Nov. 17; Seton Hall #, IOWA CITY, 8 p.m., BTN

Sun., Nov. 20; UT Rio Grande Valley, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Fri., Nov. 25; vs. Virginia +, Destin, Fla., 6 p.m., CBSSN

Sat., Nov. 26; vs. Providence or Memphis +, Destin, Fla., 3 or 6 p.m., CBSSN

Tues., Nov. 29; at Notre Dame %, South Bend, Ind., 8 p.m., ESPN2

Sat., Dec. 3; Omaha, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Mon, Dec. 5; Stetson, IOWA CITY, TBD, TBA

Thurs., Dec. 8; Iowa State *, IOWA CITY, 7 p.m., ESPN2

Sat., Dec. 17; vs. Northern Iowa ^, Des Moines, TBD, TBA

Tues., Dec. 20; North Dakota, IOWA CITY, 8 p.m., BTN

Thurs., Dec. 22; Delaware State, IOWA CITY, 8 p.m., BTN


& = exhibition

# = Gavitt Games

+ = Emerald Classic

% = Big Ten/ACC Challenge

* = Cy-Hawk Series

^ = Big Four Classic

l Comments: (319) 368-8884;

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.