How they're doing

A periodic look at former area preps

  • Photo

Iowa colleges — Valerie Davidson of Cedar Rapids (Kennedy), Hayley Peterson of West Liberty, Lauren Tandy of Vinton (Vinton-Shellsburg) and Allyson Wertz of Kalona (Mid-Prairie) are members of the Mount Mercy women’s golf team ... Julian Wilson of Amana (Benton Community) and Mickey Hines of Mount Vernon are members of the Cornell men’s track and field team ... Lotu Ahomana of Marion (Linn-Mar) is a member of the Coe’s men’s track and field team, along with Orie Brown of Belle Plaine, Derek Dinderman of Palo (Vinton-Shellsburg), Jacob Feldman and Robbie Peters of Mount Vernon, Nathan Homan (Jefferson) and C.J. Nelson (Washington), of Cedar Rapids, Ryan Izer of Lawler (Turkey Valley), Austin Springsteen of Lisbon, Nathan Suell of Fredericksburg (Turkey Valley) and Gabriel Varney of Decorah ... Kedrick Bemiss of West Union, Jordan Even, Max Thrune and Luke Winker of Cedar Rapids, JD Goodfellow of Iowa City and Jake Sevcik of Robins are members of the Kirkwood men’s golf team ... The Cornell women’s track and field roster includes Emma Cochrane of Mount Vernon and Morgan Barnard of Keystone (Benton Community) ... Kelsie Coates of Cedar Rapids (Kennedy), Tieranny Keahna of Tama (South Tama), Jean Springsteen of Lisbon and Holly Wisnousky of Fairfax (C.R. Prairie) are members of the Coe women’s track and field team ... Joel Bergen (Linn-Mar) and Jon Landis (Cedar Valley Christian) of Cedar Rapids are members of the Mount Mercy men’s golf team, along with Tyler Stueck of Vinton (Vinton-Shellsburg) and Robby Verhille of Marion (Linn-Mar) ... Chris and Thomas Ball of Marion (C.R. Xavier) are members of Loras men’s track and field team, along with Jacob Beaton (Jefferson), Garrett Hammond (Kennedy), John Meskimen (Xavier), Shamari Scott (City High) and Brandon and Evan Gradoville (Xavier) of Cedar Rapids, Cole Donahue (City High) and Sam Edeker (Regina) of Iowa City, Anakin Hall of Anamosa, Isaiah Hopp and Jacob Jansen of Elkader (Central), Preston Kauder of Cascade, Michael Lueken of Edgewood (Edgewood-Colesburg), Noah Smith of Dyersville (Beckman) and Chad Moser of Colesburg (Edgewood-Colesburg).

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.