Fan voting open until Friday for 2017 Hodge Trophy

Cox, Nolf, Retherford and Snyder are this year's finalists

  • Photo

For the fourth year, wrestling fans have the chance to help select the 2017 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy winner. The Hodge Trophy has been awarded to the nation’s most dominant college wrestler since 1994. The honor is named after the University of OKlahoma’s three-time NCAA champion (1955-57), who did not allow a takedown in his career and pinned 36 of 46 opponents.

The four finalists include Missouri senior and three-time NCAA champion J’Den Cox, Ohio State junior and two-time NCAA titlist Kyle Snyder and Penn State duo Zain Retherford and Jason Nolf. Retherford is a junior and two-time champ. Nolf is a sophomore and won his first national title last week in St. Louis, Mo.

Fans can vote for one of the four finalists. Polls will be open until Friday at 5 p.m. (Iowa time). Finalists, statistics and voting criteria can be found here at WIN Magazine.

The winner of the fan vote will receive two first-place votes to be counted among ballots from a national panel, including all former Hodge Trophy winners, national media, representatives of national wrestling organizations and retired college coaches from different regions.

The overall winner will be announced Tuesday, March 28.

l Comments: (319) 368-8679;

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.