Kennedy's Daniels, Hoyer honored by MVC

All-conference baseball teams released

  • Photo
  • All-MVC Baseball Teams

Cedar Rapids Kennedy junior pitcher-infielder Zach Daniels has been selected Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference, it was announced Monday.

Daniels hit .471 with 32 RBIs and 22 stolen bases this season for the Cougars, who play Southeast Polk in the first round of the Class 4A state baseball tournament Wednedsay in Des Moines. He also was 8-1 as a pitcher with a 1.02 earned run average.

Kennedy’s Bret Hoyer and his staff were named Coaching Staff of the Year in the Mississippi Division. Kennedy also had first-team all-division players in junior pitcher Sammy Lizarraga and senior infielder Derek Jacobus.

Cedar Falls catcher J.T. Sole was named Valley Division Athlete of the Year and his father, Jack, and his staff the Valley Coaching Staff of the Year.

Other first-team Mississippi Division picks included Cedar Rapids Jefferson sophomore Spencer VanScoyoc and Iowa City West’s Nick Gallaghdr, Devin Raffensperger and Kevin DeLaney. In the Valley Division, other first-teamers included Ryan Flaherty, Adam Pick, Colin O’Connell and Bryce Grimm of Cedar Rapids Xavier, Linn-Mar’s Manny Jeffery and Cedar Rapids Washington’s Matt Troendle and Johnny Dobbs.

Click on the tab above for a list of all of the all-MVC teams.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.