Eastern Iowa All-Star prep basketball games Wednesday night at Kirkwood

McCaffery, Lane, Phyfe, Smoldt among boys' participants

  • Photo

CEDAR RAPIDS — Kirkwood Community College again will host the Eastern Iowa All-Star Games prep basketball event, Wednesday evening at Johnson Hall.

The girls’ game tips off at 6 p.m., with the boys’ tilt to follow. The event features many of the area’s top senior players.

On the boys’ side, that includes Waverly-Shell Rock’s Austin Phyfe, Iowa City West’s Connor McCaffery and Devontae Lane, and Gladbrook-Reinbeck’s Joe Smoldt, recently chosen the 2017 Iowa Mr. Basketball. Phyfe has signed to play college ball at Northern Iowa, while McCaffery will play for his father, Fran, at Iowa.

Below are the team rosters for each game:


Joe Smoldt (Gladbrook-Reinbeck), 6-1, guard

Ethan Wyant (Jesup), 6-0, guard

Lowden Rockweiler (Decorah), 6-3, guard

Tristen Kautman (MFL MarMac), 6-0, guard

Cole Smith (Vinton-Shellsburg), 6-4, guard

Max Techau (Cedar Rapids Xavier), 6-7, forward

Austin Phyfe (Waverly-Shell Rock), 6-9, center

Connor Duax (Dubuque Hempstead), 6-5, guard

Drake Brewster (Cedar Rapids Kennedy), 6-6, forward

Max Smith Drahos (Cedar Rapids Prairie), 6-1, guard


Devontae Lane (Iowa City West), 6-2, guard

Ray Miller (Davenport Central), 6-0, guard

Niko Gosnell (Lone Tree), 6-7, forward

Dakota Soenksen (Camanche), 6-3, guard

Abe Kinrade (Maquoketa), 6-8, forward

Cooper Kabela (West Branch), 6-5, forward

Austin Ash (Mount Vernon), 6-2, guad

Connor McCaffery (Iowa City West), 6-5, guard

Bailey Basala (North Scott), 6-6, guard

Seth Moeller (Clinton Prince of Peace), 6-4, guard



Katie Harken (Waverly-Shell Rock), 5-11, guard

Victoria Hazard (Janesville), 5-11, guard

Aliyah Robinson (Waterloo West), 5-5, guard

Ashley Funk (Elkader Central), 5-8, guard

Megan Gronau (Dubuque Hempstead), 6-4, forward

Marissa Schroeder (Bellevue Marquette), 6-1, forward

Savannah Domeyer (Clayton Ridge), 6-3, forward

Brianna Mensen (Maquoketa Valley), 5-11, forward

Morgan Pitz (Western Dubuque), 5-10, guard

Tahya Campbell (Waterloo West), 5-9, guard (injured)


Shania Boyd (Columbus Community), 5-8, guard

Johanna Myeers (Burlington Notre Dame), 6-0, forward

Josie Durr (Solon), 5-8, guard

Rachel Stewart (Davenport West), 5-6, guard

Kaitlyn Volesky (Mount Vernon), 5-11, forward

Kenya Earl (Iowa City High), 5-11, forward

Kennedy Dighton (Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 6-1, forward

Lexi Noonan (Cedar Rapids Xavier), 5-10, forward

Kelsey Hora (Highland), 5-5, guard

Jasmine Harris (Davenport Assumption), 5-10, guard



Girls: Katie Harken, Morgan Pitz, Johanna Myers and Jasmine Harris.

Boys: Joe Smoldt, Tristen Kautman, Austin Ash and Dakota Soenksen

l Comments: (319) 398-8259; jeff.johnson@thegazette.com

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.