Rubio releases list of Iowa support team members

Current, former legislators among highlights of 320-member list

  • Photo

DES MOINES — A handful of current and former state legislators are among the statewide leadership team announced Sunday by Marco Rubio’s presidential campaign.

The Rubio campaign leadership team includes 320 people spanning all of Iowa’s 99 counties.

Linn County members are Jim Greif, James Russell, Roger Allen, Kathleen Bean, Jayden Bisson, Josh Donkle, Robert Frederick, Sue Frederick, Jill Hagerman, Brenda Hart, Wesley Kephart, Barbara Knight, Renee Scheuerlein, Kevin Slaman, Sydney Speltz, Gary Stejskal and Jeannette Vonvoltenburgh. Johnson County members are Jake Thomsen, Gina Jochimsen, Randall Jones, Matt Judge, Karissa Kaut, Meaghan Obrien, Taylor Parker, Luke Recker, Lyndsie Schnoor and Janelle Smithson.

Robio’s statewide support squad includes state legislators Bobby Kaufmann of Wilton, Rick Bertrand of Sioux City, and John Wills of Spirit Lake, as well as former state legislator and current Iowa House Chief Clerk Carmine Boal. His Iowa campaign chairman is another state legislator, Jack Whitver of Ankeny.

Rubio, the Republican candidate and U.S. senator from Florida, has been third in most recent polls on the race in Iowa, behind front-runners Ted Cruz and Donald Trump.

“The groundswell of support for Marco is exciting and our town hall crowds are growing larger by the day,” Whitver said in a campaign statement. “This leadership team is working hard to sustain the momentum and ensure Marco has a successful caucus night on Feb. 1.”

Rubio is campaigning in Iowa this weekend. He held three events Saturday in central and western Iowa — a fourth was canceled due to weather — and he has five more planned Monday in eastern Iowa.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.