Reynolds requests presidential disaster declaration for seven Iowa counties

July storms caused nearly $7 million in damages

  • Photo

DES MOINES — Gov. Kim Reynolds on Thursday sent a letter to President Donald Trump requesting a presidential disaster declaration for seven Iowa counties significantly damaged by severe storms and flooding last month.

Counties included in the request are Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Program for storm damage that occurred in Iowa July 19-23. The money would be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure including roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities or to cover costs of emergency work during and debris removal after the storms.

Following a joint federal, state and local preliminary damage assessment of the seven counties, it was estimated the severe weather caused nearly $7 million in damages that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.

Reynolds also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.