Packed races in store for Linn County city elections

Many non-incumbents seeking election in Cedar Rapids, Marion and Hiawatha

  • Photo

With the candidate filing deadline for the Nov. 7 election passing Thursday, voters in several Linn County communities will see multiple contested races.

Eight candidates have thrown their hat into the ring to become the next mayor of Cedar Rapids. Four other seats on the Cedar Rapids City Council also have contested races and voters in Marion and Hiawatha also have some decisions to make, according to Linn County Auditor data.

Only one Cedar Rapids City Council incumbent — Justin Shields in district 5 — is running among the five races, although two current City Council members — Kris Gulick and Scott Olson — are among the mayoral field. Nonetheless, the council will see a sweeping change ahead. Here is a closer look at the races:

Cedar Rapids

Mayor — Gulick, Olson, Brad Hart, Gary Hinzman, Tim Pridegon, Jorel Robinson, Lemi Tilahun and Monica Vernon. District 1 candidates are Marty Hoeger and Ryan Russell.

District 3 — Keith Rippy, Dale Todd and Justin Wasson.

District 5 — Shields, Ashley Vanorny and Keith Wiggins.

At-large — Damian Epps, Lisa Kuzela and Tyler Olson.


Three seats on the Marion City Council will change with no incumbents running.

Ward 2 — Steven Jensen and Peter Johnson.

Ward 4 — Rene Gadelha is running uncontested.

At-large — Bruce Cummins and Randy Strnad.


Four candidates are running for two at-large Hiawatha City Council seats.

At-large — Rob Archibald, Steven Dodson, incumbent Robert Rampulla and Thomas Theis.

Candidate lists for the rest of the county’s municipalities can be found at the Linn County Auditor’s website,

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.