Johnson County voters have full slate of candidates for Nov. 7 election

Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty and University Heights all have contested races

Voters face contested races in several of Johnson County’s largest cities, including Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty and University Heights.

With one incumbent choosing not to seek another term in both Iowa City and Coralville, councils in those cities are poised to have at least one new member at the end of the Nov. 7 election. Meanwhile, University Heights voters have eight candidates seeking five seats and a hotel/motel tax item on the ballot.

The filing deadline for candidates was 5 p.m. Thursday, with the drop out date at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Iowa City

Iowa City has three seats open, two at-large seats and one in District B.

At-large — Incumbent Kingsley Botchway III, Mazahir Salih and Angela Winnike.

District B — Ryan Hall and Susan Mims.


Coralville faces a packed field with seven candidates vying for three open council seats.

Mayor — Incumbent John Lundell is running unopposed.

At-large — Elizabeth Dinschel, Meghann Foster, incumbent Thomas Gill, incumbent Laurie Goodrich, Cindy Riley, Miriam Timmer-Hackert, Imad Youssif.

North Liberty

Three candidates are seeking two at-large council seats.

Mayor — Incumbent Terry Donahue is running unopposed.

At-large — Jennifer Goings, incumbent Annie Polluck and incumbent Brian Wayson.

University Heights

In University Heights, voters will decide a measure to implement a 7-percent hotel/motel tax. Half the tax’s gross revenue would be used to promote and encourage tourism-related activities in the city and surrounding area. The remaining revenue would be split — 90 percent to neighborhood housing and infrastructure revitalization and 10 percent to any lawful purpose. In addition, eight residents are seeking five open seats on the City Council.

Mayor — Incumbent Louise From is running unopposed.

At-large — Nicholas Herbold, Noah L. Hughes, Jason Humphrey, incumbent Dorothy Dotti Maher, Leisa Moore, incumbent Silvia M. Quesada, Melissa B. Roberts and incumbent Jerry Zimmermann.

Candidate lists for the rest of the county can be found at the Johnson County Auditor’s site,



DES MOINES - Bipartisan approval Monday by the Iowa House of a plan to buy down transportation costs in those districts that spend the most on busing sets up a showdown with the Senate.The House proposal is a one-year plan while t ...

A roundup of legislative and Capitol news items of interest for Monday, Feb. 19, 2018:RISE AND SHINE: About two dozen people spoke at an Iowa House Appropriations Committee public hearing Monday, Feb. 20, 2018, on proposed midyear ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.