Five Marion residents seeking three seats on City Council

Newcomers to change makeup of seven-member board

Marion City Hall
Marion City Hall

MARION — Three seats are open on Marion’s seven-member City Council.

Peter Johnson and Steve Jensen are running for the Ward 2 seat, to be vacated by current council member Joe Spinks.

Rene Gadelha is running unopposed for the Ward 4 seat that covers the north side of the city. David Nicholson currently serves as Ward 4 representative.

Randy Strnad and Bruce Cummins are seeking the at-large seat to be vacated by council member Mary Lou Pazour. Strnad previously served on the Marion City Council.

Those elected will join the council, which includes Mayor Nicolas AbouAssaly and council members Kim Etzel, Will Brandt and Paul Draper.

The annual pay for a council member is $4,800.



CORALVILLE - Iowa City native, advocate and author Zach Wahls announced Thursday he will run for the Iowa Senate seat held by Bob Dvorsky, who does not plan to seek re-election in 2018. "I'm running for the Iowa Senate for one si ...

CEDAR RAPIDS - Business lawyer Brad Hart will be Cedar Rapids' next mayor after beating former City Council member Monica Vernon in a runoff Tuesday.Hart took more than 54 percent of the vote.Hart said he was excited to get starte ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.