Salih joins incumbents Botchway and Mims on Iowa City Council

District B, two at-large members to be elected

  • Photo

IOWA CITY — Update: There will be a new face on the Iowa City Council.

Community organizer Mazahir Salih picked up a seat with 5,573 votes, narrowly edged out in total votes by fellow winner, incumbent Kingsley Botchway II, who picked up 5,638 votes. Both Salih and Botchway were running as at-large candidates.

Incumbent Susan Mims won another term, this time a District B candidate, with 4,197 votes, or nearly 60 percent of the total for that District.

Results are subject to a final canvass before being official. More results can be viewed at our elections results page.


Previous Coverage:

Three of Iowa City Council’s seven seats are up for grabs today with five candidates vying for the spots.

Current at-large council member Susan Mims is seeking her third term on council, this time as a District B candidate. She’s facing University of Iowa student Ryan Hall in a race in which every eligible Iowa City voter can cast a ballot.

The council also has two at-large seats open. Kingsley Botchway II is seeking re-election to the council while community organizer Mazahir Salih and Iowa City Downtown District Nighttime Mayor Angela Winnike are hoping to earn their first terms.

Current District B representative Terry Dickens did not seek re-election.

Those who win will join Mayor Jim Throgmorton and council members Rockne Cole, Pauline Taylor and John Thomas.

Throughout the campaign, candidates discussed hot-button issues like increasing sustainability and affordable housing, as well as improving the city’s transportation system.



All of the terms on the Iowa City ballot are four years.

Council members are paid a salary of $7,155.20 while the mayor earns $8,153.60, according to City Clerk Kellie Fruehling.

l Comments: (319) 339-3172;

For all of The Gazette's Election 2017 coverage, please visit our election coverage center.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.