Cedar Rapids woman appointed to Enhance Iowa Board

Stefanie Kohn joins group aiming to upgrade cultural and recreational offerings

  • Photo

CEDAR RAPIDS — Stefanie Kohn of Cedar Rapids, a curator at the National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library, has been appointed to the newly formed Enhance Iowa Board.

Kohn and Michael Broshar of Buckingham in Tama County, along with Lisa Hein of Ames, Kate McGann of Malvern and Derek Lumsden of Osceola are to serve terms ending in April 2017.

The board was created by the Iowa Legislature this year to assume the powers and duties of the Vision Iowa Board. In addition, board members aim to attract millennials by upgrading cultural and recreational opportunities. The legislation, Senate File 2308, also calls for the establishment of a sports tourism program to aid existing venues, such as the Iowa Speedway at Newton, and attract events, such as Olympic trials and college competitions.

The board also assumes control of the Community Attraction and Tourism program that supports local projects.

No funding mechanism was included in the legislation that was approved by the Iowa Senate 49-0 and the Iowa House 96-0.

Gov. Terry Branstad also appointed Emily Schirmer of Indianola, Mark Kapfer of Bettendorf, Jacob Anderson of Van Meter, Eric Bookmeyer of Mason City, Tammy Robinson of New Hampton and Charese Yanney of Sioux City to terms ending in April 2018.

The appointments are unpaid and are subject to Iowa Senate confirmation.

The Enhance Iowa Board is expected to have its first meeting in September.

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.