RAGBRAI 2018 route announcement: Live updates

Cyclists ride east of Hiawatha during RAGBRAI 2015.

(The Gazette)
Cyclists ride east of Hiawatha during RAGBRAI 2015. (The Gazette)

Saturday night, we learned the six communities that will serve as overnight stops as well as the starting and ending towns of the 46th edition of RAGBRAI this summer.

As community leaders hoped, Iowa City is an overnight stop for the first time since 1976. Iowa City will host on Friday, July 27.

The ride, scheduled for July 22-28, will start in Onawa, include a stop in Iowa City, and end in Davenport.

Here are all eight stops, from west to east: Onawa, Denison, Jefferson, Ames, Newton, Sigourney, Iowa City, Davenport.

Video of the route announcement

You can watch a video of the route being announced here.


The annual bike ride draws tens of thousands of participants and spectators from around the country and globe for seven days of bike riding from Iowa’s western border to its eastern one. The route changes each year, and anticipation builds as to where RAGBRAI will go, building the hype surrounding the announcement.

Live updates



For Tahera Rahman, wearing a hijab has been part of her identity and, really, an extension of herself, since middle school, about the same time she began filling up notebooks with stories about her day and thought, 'Maybe, I'll be ...

IOWA CITY - There will be superheroes, animated darlings and 1980s classic characters on the University of Iowa Pentacrest outside Macbride Hall this summer.The Summer of the Arts released its free movie series lineup this week. T ...

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.

Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.