Today, March 25, is National Waffle Day, which seems the perfect day to spotlight a menu from The History Center’s collection.
Ross’ Waffle Shop operated from 1947 to 1964 at 305 Third Ave. SE in Cedar Rapids, according to city directories.
Harold and Mabel Ross initially opened the Hut Steak House in 1945.
In 1947, the steak and waffle shop opened, “where good food is our business.” It was operated by Mabel, Donald and George Ross.
Harold Ross was listed in city directories after 1946 as a farmer and trader of livestock — likely cattle, with a steakhouse in the family.
The restaurant appeared to be a waffles by day, steaks by night, operation.
The breakfast menu shown here — from the 1950s — shows you could get breakfast for under a dollar — two eggs, toast and bacon or sausage for 60 cents, plus 10 cents for a glass of milk or a cup of coffee (with 5-cent refills).
A waffle or griddle cakes, with sausage or bacon, was 45 cents.
l Jami Roskamp is curator and education coordinator at The History Center in Cedar Rapids.