NewBoCo, Iowa-City tech companies take home Prometheus Awards

Technology Association of Iowa presented awards Thursday

  • Photo

A Cedar Rapids not-for-profit, two Iowa City companies and a start-up from University of Iowa students all took home awards at the 2017 LWBJ Prometheus Awards Thursday.

Each year, the Technology Association of Iowa hosts the awards to recognize the state’s technology and start-up community. Awards are presented to companies, student innovators, CEOs and, more recently, communities that embrace the industry.

The New Bohemia Innovation Collaborative, a not-for-profit based in Cedar Rapids’s NewBo district, received this year’s LWBJ Impact Award for Investing in Iowa’s Future. The not-for-profit runs the Iowa Startup Accelerator and a number of other training and educational programs to boost entrepreneurship and technology skills.

NewBoCo Executive Director Eric Engelmann received the award for CEO of the Year. Engelmann founded the organization, which now employs 18 people.

Iowa City-based TelePharm won the Software Company of the Year Award. Founded in 2012, the company provides software that allows pharmacy customers to remotely connect with pharmacists. Cardinal Health acquired TelePharm in 2016.

Higher Learning Technologies, also based in Iowa City, received the Mobile App of the Year Award for a nursing education application. The company has developed a catalog of study and education apps, such as ones for nursing, dental and medical students.

SwineTech, co-founded by University of Iowa students, won the Student Innovation of the Year Award. The start-up is working to prevent piglet deaths by developing a device to put on sows that will vibrate or send a shock if it detects squeals that indicate a sow is laying on a piglet.

Other winners include:

• Outstanding Startup of the Year: Gain Compliance, Des Moines.

• Life Science & Biotech Company of the Year: Advanced Analytical Technologies, Ankeny.

• Technology Education Champion: Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council.

• IT Service Provider of the Year: Pillar Technology, Des Moines.

• Top Growth Company of the Year: Advanced Analytical Technologies, Ankeny.

• Best User of Technology: Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Des Moines.

• AgTech Company of the Year: GlobalVetLINK, Ames.

• CTO of the Year: Pam Brodsack of TMG/CO-OP Financial Services, Des Moines.

• Technology Community of the Year: Ames.

• Technology Company of the Year: GlobalVetLINK, Ames.

• The Workiva Large Technology Company of the Year: Advanced Analytical Technologies, Ankeny.

This story has been changed to reflect an updated employee count for NewBoCo.

l Comments: (319) 398-8366;

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.