Anderson Bogert Engineers & Surveyors receives engineering award

Brian Becker
Brian Becker


Iowa Title has hired Tim Peters as branch manager of the Linn County office in Cedar Rapids.

The Cedar Rapids Area Association of Realtors hired Krisstie Speth (see photo) as manager member services. Speth previously was with Skogman Realty.

Miron Construction, based in Neenah, Wis., hired Mark Johnson (see photo) as project manager in its Cedar Rapids office.


Randee Slings has been named president of Iowa Title, which has offices in Polk, Warren, Dallas, Scott and Linn counties. Slings, formerly branch manager of the Linn County office in Cedar Rapids, will be based in West Des Moines.

Braun Intertec, based in Minneapolis, promoted Roch Player to associate principal from senior engineer in the firm’s Cedar Rapids office.

The American Red Cross has named Pami Erickson as community chapter executive of the Red Cross Grant Wood Area Chapter. Erickson has been serving in this capacity for the Hawkeye and Iowa River chapters. In her expanded role, she will managing Red Cross activities in Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hardin, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Marshall, Mitchell, Poweshiek, Tama, Washington, Winnebago and Worth counties.

Roxanne Kropf (see photo) has been named office manager for Shive-Hattery’s Cedar Rapids design office. Kropf previously served as project delivery coordinator.


The Old Creamery Theatre, Amana, has named John Robison (see photo) of Cedar Rapids to its board of directors. Robison is employed with the University of Iowa Community Credit Union.


Peter Hoehnle, Amana, and Brian Edward Donovan, Iowa City, received honorable mention during an awards ceremony of the State Historical Society of Iowa board of trustees. For the George Mills/Louise Noun Award, Hoehnle received honorable mention for “Die Colonisten und die Indianer: The Unusual Relationship Between the Meskwaki Nation and the Amana Society” and for the 2013 Mildred Throne/Charles Aldrich Award, Donovan received honorable mention for “Like‘Monkeys at the Zoo’: Politics and the Performance of Disability at the Iowa Soldiers’ Home, 1887-1910.”

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa presented Anderson Bogert Engineers & Surveyors, Cedar Rapids, with the Engineering Achievement Award for the 10th Street SE Street Improvement and Riverfront Amphitheater & Flood Protection projects in Cedar Rapids; the Honor Award for phase 1 of the Marion Central Corridor Project; and the Grand Place Award for the Melrose Avenue Surface Parking Lot in Iowa City.

Granite Equity Partners has named its portfolio company, XL Specialized Trailers of Manchester, as its Spotlight Award Company of the Year.

Northeast Iowa Community College instructors Rebecca Kamm (see photo) from the Calmar campus and Amy Rausch (see photo) from the Peosta campus received National Institute for Staff Organization and Development Excellence Awards.

Consulting magazine named McGladrey’s Brian Becker (see photo), Cedar Rapids, as one of the publication’s Top 25 Consultants in 2014.

The Cedar Rapids Community School District recognized employees celebrating milestone employment anniversaries and also honored 73 retiring employees. Recognized for 25 years of service are: Debra Allers, Susan Anderson, Christine Bauer, Teresa Brimmer, Cecilia Carey, Kathryn Damico, Lisa Foley, Wendy Frese, Al Fritz, Mary Gibney, Linda Halsor, Diane Hunt, Karen Jones, Suzy Ketelsen, Karmen Larson, Melody Lodge, Linda Meeks, Denise Melchert, Rhonda Michels, Marcia Miller, Deann Ongie, Denise Pape, William Pinckney, Nancy Raue, Rhoda Shepherd, Malinda Wilcox; 30 years: Elaine Bangs, David Bird, William Campbell, Ellen Hakes, Ginger Larsen, Ninon ONeil, Debra Post, Patricia Rooney, David Smith, Gary Ziskovsky; 35 years: Nancy Blocker, David Carney, Jeanne Fratella, Lisa Jensen, Cecilia Lane, Christine McGuire, Randy Noecker, Katherine Severson, Janet Verbick, Denise Warnock, Carol White; 40 years: Daniel Rhine; retirees: Laura Allen, Judith Barnes, Cary Beatty, Nancy Blocker, Lynn Bly, Christine Bock, James Boeke, Pamela Brandstatter, Richard Briggs, Martha Brown, Cynthia Burger, Carol Burken, Donna Butikofer, Donald Carpenter, Susan Clapp, Duane Crock, Teresa Danly, Jean Davison, Josephine Delbridge, Rebecca DeWald, Debra DeHoedt. Also recognized were Cynthia Donaldson, Lauretta Doyle, Dawn Drake, Teresa Drtina, Ozie Eggelton, Barb Ehl, Carmen Fleming, Karyl Franks, Gwendolyn Gano, Doris Haugen, Catherine Hovda, Joann Hunt, Cecelia Jamason, Robert Jones, Marie Kelch, Gayle Kelley, Rhonda Kochuyt, Margo Lee, Susan Lloyd, Barb Long, Jamie Longner, Peggy Loomis, Bonnie Martensen, Larry Martin, Anita Miller, Mary Nelson, Debora Noecker, Randy Noecker, Gordon Nordgren, Marsha O’Connell, Donna Oliphant, Eric Oliver, Peggy Pechota, Deb Post, Ada Potratz, Teresa Quass, Debra Rahe, Rebecca Reif, Stephen Reynolds, Lynette Richards, Cindy Salat, Karen Schwingle, Katherine Severson, Kathleen Shelton, Linda Sickles, Beverly Speer, Connie Stusak, Twyla Thomas, Patricia Walsh, Denise Warnock, Janice White and Cathy Zachariasen.


Part III of a three-part Create Speakers series focusing on leadership empowerment in business will be Tuesday, June 3, from 11:15 a.m. to 1 p.m. at The Kirkwood Center in Cedar Rapids. Dr. Nate Booth, author of Thriving on Change: The Art of Using Change to your advantage and The Diamond Touch: How to Get What You want by Giving Others What they uniquely desire,” will provide practical strategies to offset the economic forces challenging today’s business environment. For additional information, go to or call (319) 398-1022.

Culturally Responsive Health Care in Iowa, a conference for health care providers, will be Friday, June 6, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, 300 E. Ninth St., Coralville. Registration deadline is May 30. For additional information, contact Continuing Medical Education Division, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, 100 CMAB, Iowa City, IA 52242-1101, or call (319) 335-8599.


Goodwill Reboot will open for business at 9 a.m. Friday in its new location inside the Goodwill Store, 445 Highway 6 E. in Iowa City. The move is part of a plan to centralize Goodwill’s Iowa City retail operations under one roof.


AARP will host a public hearing on age discrimination in the workplace at 10 a.m. Thursday at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center in Cedar Rapids. To preregister, go to or call AARP at (877) 926-8300.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.