Books

Review: 'The Delphi Effect'

Book one of trilogy is captivating, confusing at times

“The Delphi Effect” by Rysa Walker is captivating. It contains elements of the paranormal — Anna picks up spirits who have something they need to accomplish before they can go to the Great Beyond. But is also contains elements of science fiction — Anna’s gift didn’t necessarily come to her naturally and perhaps the Government has something to do with it.

The story moves along at a quick pace. There is no slowing down which was fine until the end when the Great Escape takes place. But with so much going on inside and outside of Anna’s head (I think she had three or four spirits in her head at that point) I was thoroughly confused about the whole escape. I kept going back and re-reading paragraphs and still couldn’t make sense of it.

I’m excited to see where “The Delphi Effect” (Skyscape, October 2016) goes next. There was an interesting discovery about Anna towards the end and I’m wondering what direction Walker will take the series next.

CONTINUE READING

MORE Books ARTICLES TO READ NEXT ...

Fans of 'The Nightingale' and 'All the Light We Cannot See' might be drawn to Kristin Harmel's latest release, 'The Room on Rue Amelie.' Yet another entry into the World War II historical fiction genre, Harmel attempts to capture ...

Debut novelist Lexie Elliott always wanted to be a writer. Thinking back on a summer vacation with her friends to a farmhouse in France, the idea for this novel was formed. Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb and three other friends ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.