Books

Review: 'Expressive Writing for Healing' helps you tackle grief through writing

Mary Potter Kenyon’s book, “Expressive Writing for Healing: Journal Your Way From Grief to Hope” is a helpful resource when it comes to handling grief. She writes less like an author and more like a friend writing a long, yet helpful letter. She writes as if she knows you personally, a definite asset when writing about grief.

There is no sidestepping here. She immediately tells you her tragic story of losing her husband and her journey in overcoming her grief through the power of writing. She shares everything about her grief. This book isn’t just for those who suffer a loss, but anyone interested in taking up journaling as a hobby. She puts pages aside for your own personal journaling. She offers prompts to stimulate the writing process and suggests how to journal when grief becomes overwhelming.

Kenyon, from Manchester, makes a point to express that there are no rules when it comes to journaling. You can write what you want, how you want, without the fear of judgment from others. You can insert cards and other memorabilia or you can stick strictly to freewriting. Your journal is your own and you can do with it as you like.

Mary Potter Kenyon will host an Expressive Writing for Healing Workshop at 2 p.m. April 22 at Barnes & Noble in Cedar Rapids. This free workshop is designed for anyone who has experienced a trauma of any sort. If her book is any indication, this workshop will likely be an interesting and valuable experience for anyone looking to improve their life through journaling.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

CONTINUE READING

MORE Books ARTICLES TO READ NEXT ...

Fans of 'The Nightingale' and 'All the Light We Cannot See' might be drawn to Kristin Harmel's latest release, 'The Room on Rue Amelie.' Yet another entry into the World War II historical fiction genre, Harmel attempts to capture ...

Debut novelist Lexie Elliott always wanted to be a writer. Thinking back on a summer vacation with her friends to a farmhouse in France, the idea for this novel was formed. Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb and three other friends ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.