Books

Review: Emotions put stranglehold on 'From a Distance'

By Rob Cline, correspondent

“From a Distance,” the new novel by Iowa City author Larry Baker, is a book filled with hidden and claustrophobic spaces. There’s a bookstore so overstuffed it is nearly unnavigable. There’s an entire floor of a New York high rise that is hidden from most everyone. There’s the troubled mind of a woman who suffers unspeakable abuse and never fully recovers.

The book’s title, with its suggestion of hard won perspective, is a commentary on the closed in nature of the narrative. None of the characters can see the whole story, and their experience of it — and the way they describe it to others and themselves — varies widely.

At the center of the novel is Ellie, a mentally ill woman who writes her own story in fits and starts for various audiences real and imagined. She is in love with Bobby — who she calls Peyton — a man whose heritage is not quite what it seems. Bobby leaves Charleston for New York and soon becomes a much-respected publisher. He holds at arm’s length his assistant, Sally, a woman who can’t quite overcome Bobby’s attachment to the troubled lover from his youth.

Though Bobby and Sally’s stories are written from a third-person perspective, they are similar to the passages in Ellie’s voice in that they are much concerned with memory and self-doubt. Indeed, the book itself is something of a claustrophobic space for the reader as the story keeps the focus on the lingering emotions tied to experiences rather than on the experiences themselves.

As the book comes to a close, one character tries to create and occupy the necessary distance to bring a resolution to the central story. It’s an act of devotion after much is lost, and it brings the characters in “From a Distance” to the end of their long, troubled journey.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

CONTINUE READING

MORE Books ARTICLES TO READ NEXT ...

Fans of 'The Nightingale' and 'All the Light We Cannot See' might be drawn to Kristin Harmel's latest release, 'The Room on Rue Amelie.' Yet another entry into the World War II historical fiction genre, Harmel attempts to capture ...

Debut novelist Lexie Elliott always wanted to be a writer. Thinking back on a summer vacation with her friends to a farmhouse in France, the idea for this novel was formed. Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb and three other friends ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.