Books

Gardening at the Cedar Rapids Public Library: From gardening books to kits, library has what you need to get digging

/

Spring is coming to the Cedar Rapids Public Library, even if the weather doesn’t always feel like it. We’ve got programs, magazines, books and even seeds to get you started.

Throughout April, the library will be hosting Linn County Master Gardeners who will present programs on everything from layered gardens to planning a bird friendly garden. These programs are always popular, so plan to get there early. Take a look at our event calendar at crlibrary.org or call (319) 261-READ for more details on times and locations. Some of these programs will take place at the Ladd Library and some will be at the Downtown library.

Spring always means a new crop of gardening books. Titles on organic vegetable gardening and small scale farming continue to be popular, and gardening for cut flowers is a more recent trend. Our newest titles include, “The Suburban Micro-Farm: Modern Solutions for Busy People” by Amy Stross, “Martha’s Flowers: A Practical Guide to Growing, Gathering, and Enjoying” by Martha Stewart, and “Niki Jabour’s Veggie Garden Remix” by Niki Jabour.

If you’re just looking for inspiration, come browse the gardening books. We’ve got titles on vegetables, flowers, herbs, butterfly gardens, urban chickens, bee friendly gardens, just about anything you can think of. Our magazine section has home and garden magazines like Better Homes and Gardens, Fine Gardening, This Old House, and The Family Handyman. Try searching our catalog at crlibrary.org. You can place books and magazines on hold and have them set aside for you at the library closest to you.

Our newest gardening endeavor is checking out seeds. We’re always expanding our collection of Spark Kits and are adding a gardening kit called “Grow It!” to help you get started. Our Spark Kits are activity kits with supplies to try out a new hobby or skill without investing in all of the equipment. The gardening kit will include an assortment of seeds and a book to walk you through the process. If we could have included some dirt in there, we would have.

Once your garden is established, check out our bird watching kit called “For the Birds” that includes a set of binoculars and a book on Iowa bird identification.

For questions on what we have to offer, call at (319) 261-READ.

l Erin Horst is materials manager at the Cedar Rapids Public Library.

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.

CONTINUE READING

MORE Books ARTICLES TO READ NEXT ...

Fans of 'The Nightingale' and 'All the Light We Cannot See' might be drawn to Kristin Harmel's latest release, 'The Room on Rue Amelie.' Yet another entry into the World War II historical fiction genre, Harmel attempts to capture ...

Debut novelist Lexie Elliott always wanted to be a writer. Thinking back on a summer vacation with her friends to a farmhouse in France, the idea for this novel was formed. Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb and three other friends ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.