Prep Basketball

IHSAA releases Class 1A, 2A boys' basketball postseason pods

Cascade's Brock Simon puts up a shot during a 2017 state tournament game at Wells Fargo Arena. (Stephen Mally/The Gazette)
Cascade's Brock Simon puts up a shot during a 2017 state tournament game at Wells Fargo Arena. (Stephen Mally/The Gazette)

CEDAR RAPIDS — The Iowa High School Athletic Association released postseason district pods for the smallest two classes in boys’ basketball Friday. If The Gazette’s rankings are any indication, the power has been split well.

There is at least one ranked team in each of the eight substates in Class 1A and 2A but no more than two in any of them. The only “loaded” district is 2A-3, where seventh-ranked Sheldon and eighth-ranked Sioux Center are present.

On the eastern side of the state, second-ranked Cascade (14-0) is in a good District 8 with capable teams like Iowa City Regina (9-3), West Branch and Monticello.

Dyersville Beckman (8-5) and Waukon (8-4) are probably the favorites in corresponding District 7.

In Class 1A, second-ranked North Linn (16-0) is a big favorite in a District 8 that consists of only Tri-Rivers Conference teams. Gladbrook-Reinbeck (9-3) is likely the top team in corresponding District 7.

Coaches in each of the districts will convene Jan. 31 to hash out seeds for each team, which will be used for brackets. The IHSAA will determine sites for each game.

Class 3A and 4A postseason pods will be released next Friday, Jan. 26.

Class 2A

District 1: Carroll Kuemper, East Sac County, Ida Grove OA-BCIG Logan-Magnolia, Mapleton MVAOCOU, Missouri Valley


District 2: No. 1 Western Christian, Hinton, Rock Valley, Unity Christian, West Lyon, West Sioux

District 3: No. 7 Sioux Center, No. 8 Sheldon, Cherokee, Estherville Lincoln Central, Okoboji, Sibley-Ocheyedan

District 4: Alta-Aurelia, Emmetsburg, Manson Northwest Webster, Pocahontas Area, Sioux Central, South Central Calhoun

District 5: Central Springs, Forest City, Garner GHV, Hampton-Dumont, Lake Mills, Osage

District 6: No. 5 Aplington-Parkersburg, Denver, Dike-New Hartford, New Hampton, Union Community, Waterloo Columbus

District 7: Dyersville Beckman, Jesup, North Fayette Valley, Oelwein, Sumner-Fredericksburg, Waukon

District 8: No. 2 Cascade, Bellevue, Iowa City Regina, Monticello, North Cedar, West Branch

District 9: No. 10 Northeast, Camanche, Durant, Louisa-Muscatine, Tipton, Wilton


Thank you for signing up for our e-newsletter!

You should start receiving the e-newsletters within a couple days.

District 10: Central Lee, Columbus Community, Mediapolis, Van Buren, Wapello, West Burlington

District 11: Albia, Davis County, Eddyville EBF, Mid-Prairie, Pekin, Williamsburg

District 12: No. 3 Van Meter, Clarke, Interstate 35, Mount Ayr, Pleasantville, West Central Valley

District 13: No. 4 East Marshall, Colfax-Mingo, Monroe PCM, Pella Christian, South Hardin, West Marshall

District 14: No. 6 South Hamilton, Clarion CGD, Eagle Grove, Ogden, Roland-Story, Southeast Valley

District 15: Des Moines Christian, Greene County, Guthrie Center ACGC, Panorama, Woodward Academy, Woodward-Granger

District 16: No. 9 Treynor, Avoca AHSTW, Clarinda, Red Oak, Shenandoah, Underwood

Class 1A

District 1: No. 7 George-Little Rock, Akron-Westfield, Boyden-Hull, Central Lyon, Lawton-Bronson, LeMars Gehlen, Marcus MMCRU, Siouxland Christian, Trinity Christian


District 2: Clay Central-Everly, Harris-Lake Park, Hartley HMS, Newell-Fonda, North Union, Ruthven GTRA, South O'Brien, Storm Lake St. Mary's, West Bend-Mallard

District 3: No. 4 Algona Garrigan, Belmond-Klemme, Fort Dodge St. Edmond, Mason City Newman, North Iowa, Northwood-Kensett, Saint Ansgar, West Fork, West Hancock

District 4: No. 8 Don Bosco, Ackley AGWSR, Conrad BCLUW, Clarksville, Grundy Center, Hudson, Latimer CAL, Nashua-Plainfield, North Butler, Rockford

District 5: No. 6 Dunkerton, Janesville, Lansing Kee, Postville, Riceville, South Winneshiek, Tripoli, Turkey Valley, West Central

District 6: No. 10 Wapsie Valley, Central City, Clayton Ridge, East Buchanan, Edgewood-Colesburg, Elkader Central, Maquoketa Valley, MFL MarMac, Starmont

District 7: Belle Plaine, BGM, English Valleys, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, GMG, HLV, Iowa Valley, Meskwaki, North Tama

District 8: No. 2 North Linn, Alburnett, Bellevue Marquette, Calamus-Wheatland, Cedar Valley Christian, Clinton Prince of Peace, Easton Valley, Lisbon, Midland, Springville

District 9: Burlington Notre Dame, Danville, Fort Madison Holy Trinity, Highland, Iowa Mennonite, Lone Tree, New London, WACO, Winfield-Mount Union


District 10: No. 5 Lynnville-Sully, Cardinal, Keota, Montezuma, Moravia, Moulton-Udell, North Mahaska, Sigourney, Tri-County

District 11: No. 1 Grand View Christian, Ankeny Christian, Baxter, Collins-Maxwell, Colo-Nesco, Iowa Christian, Madrid, Melcher-Dallas, Twin Cedars

District 12: Central Decatur, Earlham, East Union, Lamoni, Martensdale-St. Marys, Mormon Trail, Murray, Seymour, Southeast Warren, Wayne

District 13: No. 9 Bedford, Clarinda Academy, Diagonal, Essex, Lenox, Nodaway Valley, Orient-Macksburg, Sidney, Southwest Valley

District 14: Anita CAM, Council Bluffs St. Albert, East Mills, Exira-EHK, Fremont-Mills, Griswold, Heartland Christian, Riverside, Stanton

District 15: Ar-We-Va, Audubon, Boyer Valley, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Glidden-Ralston, IKM-Manning, Paton-Churdan, Tri-Center, Woodbine

District 16: No. 3 Remsen St. Mary's, Kingsley-Pierson, Ridge View, River Valley, West Harrison, West Monona, Westwood, Whiting, Woodbury Central

l Comments: (319) 398-8259;

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.



CEDAR RAPIDS - A former youth basketball coach was indicted last week on a federal charge related to secretly recording three naked teenage players. Greg Stephen, 42, of Monticello, a former Iowa Barnstormers coach, was indicted ...

CEDAR RAPIDS - Boxscores from Sunday's IGCA/Larry Niemeyer All-Star girls' basketball games at Johnson Hall: 1A GRAY 80, 1A WHITE 63 1A GRAY (80): Hailey Messerich 3 3-4 9, Ashley Schwartzhoff 3 1-1 7, Gabrielle Lenth 1 0-0 2, E ...

Give us feedback

We value your trust and work hard to provide fair, accurate coverage. If you have found an error or omission in our reporting, tell us here.

Or if you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.