Field set for Iowa City school board election

Nine candidates to contend for three seats on board

Nine candidates are running for three seats in the Iowa City school board election Sept. 10.

The field includes two current board members, Karla Cook and Tuyet Dorau. The other incumbent, Sarah Swisher, is not seeking re-election to the seven-member board.

The other candidates are Brian Kirschling, Chris Lynch, Jason Lewis, Jim Tate, Sara Barron, Gregg Geerdes and Phil Hemingway.

Dorau and Lynch live in Coralville, while the other seven have Iowa City addresses. The school district includes Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty, Hills and University Heights.

School board members are elected at large and serve four-year terms.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.