President approves Iowa disaster aid request

It's the state's fourth disaster declaration this year

  • Photo

Iowa’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 10 northeast counties damaged by severe weather in June has been approved.

The counties are Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek.

The request made July 18 was in response to significant damage that was caused by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began June 21 and continued through June 28.

This is the state’s fourth Presidential Disaster Declaration this year.

The declaration will provide federal funding to the affected counties under the Public Assistance Program. That puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

The declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.

It’s the 18th Major Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.