Seven Hawkeye wrestlers earn all-academic honors

McDonough, Evans, Grothus, Dziewa among group of Iowa wrestlers honored

Senior Matt McDonough, sophomores Mike Evans and Josh Dziewa and red-shirt freshman Brody Grothus were among seven University of Iowa wrestlers to receive all-academic Big Ten honors this season. The school announced it Wednesday on its athletics website.

Athletes have to be a letterwinner and be in their second academic year with a minimum 3.0 grade-point average.

McDonough, a two-time NCAA champion and three-time national finalist, finished his career with 122 wins, is a health and physiology major.

Evans, who placed sixth at 174 pounds, posting a 23-7 record, is a sophomore Communications Studies student.

Dziewa, from Yardley, Pa., won the 149-pound spot for the postseason, but went 0-2. He was 15-4 overall. The red-shirt sophomore is a Leisure Studies major.

Grothus, who split time at 149 this year and had a 6-8 mark, is a pre-business student.

Other Hawkeye wrestlers honored were Joe DuCharme, former Mount Vernon prep Josh Haug and Kris Klapprodt, a red-shirt freshman 174-pounder from Rapid City, S.D.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.