Indian Creek Nature Center names new board members

  • Photo


Matt Vogl (see photo) joined Terry Lockridge & Dunn as a  staff accountant. Vogl graduated from the University of Iowa with a BA in accounting and finance.

The Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance hired Amy Grotewold (see photo) as the Leadership and Innovation programs specialist and Barbra Snitker (see photo) as the Economic Alliance public sector liaison.


Erb’s Technology Solutions added Brittani Von Roden, director of marketing and communications, and Aaron Hopp, operations manager, to its leadership team.


The Indian Creek Nature Center named its board of directors and executive committee members: Rebecca Mumaw, president; Jeff Hines, Bankers Trust, president-elect; Dave Rokos, Rockwell Collins, treasurer; and Don Johnson, Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman, immediate past president; Brad Doyle, Transamerica; Brad Morgan, Alliant Energy; Steve Dummermuth, IGD Industries; David Gosch, Rockwell Collins; Jeff Portman, Solum-Lang Architects; and Scott Arensdorf, RuffaloCODY.

St. Luke’s Hospital in Cedar Rapids added Diane Ramsey (see photo), Rockwell Collins, and Gene Neighbor (see photo), Farmers State Bank, to its Foundation Board.

Helen. G. Nassif Community Cancer Center named Gary Streit (see photo), Shuttleworth and Ingersoll, as board chairman, and Brian Scott (see photo), City State Bank, as a board member.

Brandi Mueller (see photo), Overture Group, was named to the board of directors for Young Parents Network.

The Arc of East Central Iowa announced new executive committee appointments: Christine Crosby, Guaranty Bank, president; David Wenzel, Lynch Dallas, vice president; Ellen Mouw, Acme Graphics Inc., secretary; Jeffrey Corrigan, PCI, treasurer; and Iris Muchmore, Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman, past president. New board members include Dianne Austrad (see photo), Mount Mercy University; Paul Kiburz (see photo), Grant Wood Area Education Agency; and Ben Rogers (see photo), Linn County.

The Cedar Rapids Community Concert Association elected John Haack, Vaclav Hasek, Shirlee Strilch and Scott Piquard as new board members. Re-elected officers were Arliss Bailey, secretary; Ivan Chester, treasurer; Bruce Western, second vice president; Ellen Pelzer, first vice president; and Tony Staab, president.

Eastern Iowa professionals named to the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Stores of Iowa’s board were Jason McDermott (see photo), McDermott Oil Co., Cascade; Dan Toale (see photo), Hartland Fuel Products, Jesup, chairman; and Marshall Petersen, Hawkeye Oil Co., Cedar Rapids, vice chairman.

The Catherine McAuley Center announced new board members Michele Brock (see photo), ME&V; John Chaimov (see photo), Coe College; John Gilson, Rockwell Collins; Larry Maiers, St. Luke’s Hospital; and Tom Podzimek (see photo), Benchmark Construction. The Center also announced Melissa Pence as president; Maureen Kenney, president-elect; John Gilson, Rockwell Collins, treasurer; and Joan McVay, Farmers State Bank, secretary.

Elected to the Landlords of Linn County board were Laura O’Leary, president; Garry Grimm, vice president; Kim Frederickson, secretary; and Dick Rehman, treasurer. Directors include Therie Cutchlow, Michele Formanek, Kim Gordon, Barb Kintzle, Linda Miller, Bob Mitchell, Bob Randklev and Keith Smith.

New board members for the Carl & Mary Koehler History Center are Timothy Klima, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll; Kimberly Heckert (see photo), College Community Schools; Sean Matthews, CRST; and James Kramer, Ryan Companies.

Named to the board of directors at St. Luke’s Hospital was Doug Olson (see photo), Great America.


Beth Brockette (see photo), with Ruhl & Ruhl Realtors in Cedar Rapids, was awarded the Certified Residential Specialist designation by the Council of Residential Specialists. Brockette is a sales associate.

Brad Haverback (see photo) passed the comprehensive final exam to earn the Certified Financial Planner designation from the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards. Haverback an investment adviser representative with World Trend Financial.

Roberta Meeks (see photo), Jon M. McCright law firm, attained the status of Enrolled Agent through comprehensive testing for unlimited practice before the Internal Revenue Service.


L.L. Pelling Co. Inc. in North Liberty won first place in the asphalt paving division in the Associated General Contractors of Iowa’s AGC of Iowa Recognition of Safety Excellence Awards.

The Indian Creek Nature Center gave volunteer awards to Karla Gibson, Mark Ogden and Richard Garberson. The Jack-In-The-Pulpit award, given to volunteers of two years or more whose work has produced exceptional results for the Nature Center, was given to Lisa Henderson, Bradley Lang and Paul Brundell.

At the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Stores of Iowa’s meeting, Linn Coop Oil Co. of Marion was recognized with the Renewable Fuels Ethanol Marketing Award and Harney Oil Co. in Coralville was given the Renewable Fuels Biodiesel Marketing Award.

Margie Jenkins (see photo) was named Sales Leader of the Year for 2012 for Skogman Realty in Hiawatha.


The City of North Liberty’s Hometown Rewards program and JM Swank, ConAgra Foods’s national food ingredients distribution business will host a panel discussion on energy-efficiency rebates and incentives for businesses. The free event will be held noon to 1:30 p.m., Feb. 12, at JM Swank, 395 Herky St., North Liberty. Registration is requited by Feb. 5. Call (319) 626-5768 or email

The American Business Women’s Association will hold a Business Associates Night featuring Colleen Cahill Holmes, who will talk on “8 to Great: The Positive Process for Positive Change,” from 5:45 to 8 p.m., Feb. 6, at the Best Western Longbranch Hotel, 90 Twixt Town Rd. NE, Cedar Rapids. Cost is $15 for member, $20 for guests. RSVP by noon Friday to


Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, headquartered in Spartanburg, S.C., selected Cedar Rapids-based Geonetric to develop a new website for the organization.

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.