Fire Department to present recognition ceremony tonight

The Cedar Rapids Fire Department will present a Recognition Ceremony tonight at 6:00 p.m. at Kirkwood Community College at Iowa Hall/Mansfield Center, Iowa Room 316.

The Ceremony will begin with a Presentation of Colors by the Cedar Rapids Fire Department Honor Guard. Next, Fire Department Chaplain Rick Gail will present the Invocation. This will be followed by guest speaker City Manager Jeff Pomeranz.

The Fire Department will recognize five recent retirements and ten promotions, followed by awards to firefighters and civilians.

Fire Chief Mark English will present the following awards, along with the Fire Chief’s Award, at the ceremony:

Award for Distinguished Action – Rick Brown of Cedar Rapids who extinguished a sport-utility vehicle that was on fire with the driver trapped inside at a collision at the 6th Street Southwest overpass pillar off of U.S. Highway 30 eastbound.

Award for Distinguished Service – Captain Dennis Langguth for his coordination of the Eastern Iowa Honor Flight, which flies veterans to Washington, D.C. in honor of their military service.

Letter of Commendation – Hiawatha Fire Chief Mike Nesslage for assisting the Cedar Rapids Fire Department with a scene size-up and ensuring occupants had safely escaped a house fire at 6706 Arbor Lane NE on January 3, 2012.

Letter of Commendation – Captain Dennis Langguth for providing medical care for a motor vehicle accident victim on December 15, 2011 at the intersection of 29th Avenue and Wiley Boulevard Southwest.

Letter of Commendation – Captain Cheme Fairlie for providing medical care for a motor vehicle accident victim on December 1, 2011 near a small town in the St. Louis area.

Letter of Commendation – Captain Jason Andrews for providing logistics, planning and multi-agency coordination of the Fire Department’s Emergency Medical Services response to RAGBRAI’s overnight stop in Cedar Rapids on July 26, 2012.

Letter of Commendation – Captain Brent Smith for collaborating with the University of Iowa’s Burn Treatment Center and University of Iowa Athletics to produce a public service announcement to promote scald prevention strategies.

Letter of Commendation – Battalion Chief John Pulver for the conceptualization and continued growth of the Fire Department’s Honor Guard. Chief Pulver has serves at the Commander of the Honor Guard and has trained other fire departments throughout the region.

Letter of Commendation – Firefighter Matt Kunkle for helping resuscitate a 21-year old male who was in cardiac arrest. Firefighter Kunkle, who was off-duty, responded with the on-duty fire crew that did not have a paramedic working.

Letter of Commendation – Captain Rick Halleran for getting the Fire Department certified as a member of the Candidate Physical Agility Test consortium. Captain Halleran coordinated the training of Cedar Rapids firefighters to become test proctors and worked with area departments to establish orientation, practice and testing dates.

Life Saving Awards – Eight citizens and 38 firefighters will be recognized for helping revive a pulseless, breathless patient in 12 cardiac events throughout the community.

The Recognition Ceremony will conclude with a Benediction by Fire Department Chaplain Phil Saunders and Retirement of the Colors by the Cedar Rapids Fire Department Honor Guard.

The Fire Chief’s Award will be announced at the Ceremony. Detailed award narratives are available on the Fire Department’s Web site at

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.