Krei, Johnson, Wahlin earn top awards

IOWA CITY -- Kelly Krei, Morgan Johnson and Kamille Wahlin earned the top awards at the postseason banquet for the University of Iowa women's basketball team.

Krei was named the best defensive player, Johnson was named the most improved player and senior Kamille Wahlin was given the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award.

Iowa’s all-Big Ten honorees were also recognized; Johnson (second team), Jaime Printy and Wahlin (third team) and Logic (freshman team).

Krei, Johnson, Wahlin, Printy, Trisha Nesbitt, Kalli Hansen, Hannah Draxten and Megan Considine were also honored as academic all-Big Ten selections.  Iowa’s eight academic all-Big Ten picks were the most for any Big Ten women’s basketball team and the most in Iowa school history.

The Hawkeyes finished 19-12 overall tied for second in the Big Ten. They qualified for the NCAA tournament for the fifth consecutive season. 


Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.