Final Big Ten notes and stats

  • Photo

Iowa free safety Brett Greenwood ended up leading the Big Ten with five interceptions this season, according to the Big Ten final stats released by the league office today.

It's the third straight season an Iowa safety has led the Big Ten in picks. Tyler Sash was the league's interception leader in 2008 (five with 147 return yards) and in 2009 (six INTs). This year, Greenwood passed teammate Shaun Prater with an interception in the Insight Bowl (one that, coincidentally, Prater set up when he tipped a pass in Iowa's end zone).

Iowa WR Derrell Johnson-Koulianos led the league in kickoff returns, averaging 29.3 yards on 17 returns.

Those were Iowa's only statistical leaders.

Defensive tackle Karl Klug was fifth in sacks (5.5) and tackles for loss (13).

Here are some other notes:

-- Iowa QB Ricky Stanzi guided the Hawkeyes to three bowl wins in his career, including the 2009 Outback Bowl, 2010 Orange Bowl and 2010 Insight Bowl. Stanzi is just the third signal caller in Big Ten history to start three bowl victories, joining previous three-time winners Mark Herrmann of Purdue (1978 Peach, 1979 Bluebonnet, 1980 Liberty) and Bollinger of Wisconsin (2000 Rose, 2000 Sun, 2002 Alamo).

-- With a victory in the Insight Bowl, Iowa has won three consecutive bowl games for the first time in school history. The Hawkeyes also were victorious in the 2010 Orange Bowl and 2009 Outback Bowl. The last Big Ten team to win three straight postseason games was Penn State, which earned triumphs after the 2005, 2006 and 2007 seasons. The only other teams in the country to win bowls after each of the last three seasons are Florida, Florida State and South Florida.

-- Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz and Ohio State’s Jim Tressel both earned their sixth bowl triumph to move into a tie for third place in Big Ten history for total postseason wins. Penn State’s Joe Paterno, who holds the NCAA record with 24 bowl triumphs, has collected 10 bowl wins since joining the Big Ten to set the conference record.

Former Wisconsin head coach and current athletics director Barry Alvarez ranks second with eight bowl wins. Ferentz and Tressel are now tied for third with Iowa’s Hayden Fry and Michigan’s Lloyd Carr, who each produced six bowl victories.

Former Hawkeye coach Hayden Fry also is tied for third with six bowl victories.

The Big Ten Conference on Twitter





















2010 Release FINAL

Conference Stats 1-12-11

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.