The principles that guide us

The Gazette editorial board offers an institutional viewpoint as part of our company's commitment to serving communities and providing leadership.

Our editorials are meant to focus attention on what matters most to Eastern Iowans. Frequently within our opinions are calls to action — arguments to support or change a policy or practice involving government, organizations or leaders.

Our editorials are the consensus of board members.


Our mission:

To work with our communities to identify important public issues and decisions.

To present the verified, relevant information needed to address those issues, making it available in a variety of formats and styles.

To engage citizens in civil discussion of viable options and trade-offs involved.

To boldly state and support our consensus view in staff editorials.

To account for and monitor our collective progress, highlighting lessons to be learned and advocating course corrections, when needed.


As a board, we advocate for:

First Amendment freedoms of speech, press, religion, petition and assembly; open government and freedom of information. We are the watchdog for our communities.

Open, effective, accountable government at every level and responsible stewardship of public funds.

Open dialogue between the community and the press.

Equal protection under the law.

Regional cooperation and development among area governments, businesses and nonprofit groups.

Strong communities where residents of all backgrounds are active participants in tackling tough problems and creating a better collective future.

Maximizing community assets and uncovering hidden strengths; adapting structures, processes and relationships to new technologies.

Transforming Iowa's educational system into one that prepares students for work, citizenship and adult life; ongoing training and education opportunities that support lifelong learning and prosperity.

Forward-looking stewardship of natural resources.


Members of the editorial board:

Jim Burke, Iowa SourceMedia Group president

Vicki Decker, letters editor

Todd Dorman, columnist

Jennifer Hemmingsen, opinion editor

Zack Kucharski, Gazette executive editor

Quinn Pettifer, community outreach and engagement manager

Lynda Waddington, columnist



Community representatives to the editorial board:

Roxanne Erdahl (2014)

Justin Wasson (2014)

Neal Baty (2015)

Teresa Daubitz (2015)

Bev George Taylor (2015)


Past community representatives to the board:

Linda Seger (2013)

Karl Cassell (2013)

Like what you're reading?

We make it easy to stay connected:

to our email newsletters
Download our free apps

Give us feedback

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Tell us here.
Do you have a story idea we should look into? Tell us here.